ChronicallyMe

Life with a chronic illness


Let the LDN Commence

My first month’s supply of LDN arrived yesterday by recorded delivery.

I’ve decided to try taking my dose in the mornings.  Conventially it’s advised to take in at night as close to midnight as you can.  But some experts recommend that people with ME/CFS take it in the mornings as they have poor sleep already and LDN can disrupt sleep.

It may be that it makes me very sleepy.  In which case I may switch to trying it at night and seeing if I overcome (or be lucky enough not to have) the vivid dreams and insomnia side effects.  These may give way over a couple of weeks anyway.

Ten minutes ago I took my first dose.  I am already feeling a bit spaced out. Almost a bit drunk.  So I’m writing this fast!

I chose the liquid form of LDN as it is easier to adjust the dose if I don’t tolerate the initial 3mg dose well.

It came with an adminstering syringe so you can take an accurate dose.  This needs to be sterlised between uses.  The hardest part was calculating the maths of how much sterlising fluid we needed to use.

The liquid has a cherry flavouring.  It reminded me of cough medicine as a child.  The cherry is almost pleasant – for the first second it was in my mouth.  Then the bitterness came.  I washed it down with some water but I think I need a drink with more taste to shift it.  It’s not horrible but it’s not yummy either.  Perhaps a square of Dairy Milk chocolate will help …



7 responses to “Let the LDN Commence”

  1. I’d probably replace the LDN w the chocolate:-) Good luck and keep us posted!

  2. It is different from my experience, which can be a good sign. 😉
    I’m keeping my fingers crossed for you.

    1. I was anticiapting all sorts of things and possibly feeling nothing at all. Wasn’t expecting what I got on the frist dose.

      But then when I took my first D-Ribose I got really hyper so maybe my body goes a bit loopy when it first tries new things 🙂

  3. could you mix it into yogurt/soya yogurt or something else with a thickish consistency to help carry it over the tongue without sticking so much? honey?

    Good luck with it – i am excited at the prospect it may improve things for you.

    1. I tried it this morning mixed with my morning D-Ribose in water. What a little cocktail that is! Can’t quite tell you what that tastes like. I did try to down it in one though 😉

      1. good plan – should help with the bitterness and give you who knows what kind of rush!!

Leave a comment