ChronicallyMe

Life with a chronic illness


My Abdominal Pain

I’ve had abdominal pain since around 2016 when my gallbladder flared to epic pukey proportions of contraction and disease. I saw the GP and a Gastro about continued pain around my upper gallbladder incisions after surgery. Nerve pain was suggested.

At the same time I wasn’t able to wear anything around my waist and haven’t been able to in all these years. I put it down to a new onset of allodynia. Except – it happened around the time my gallbladder flared and then those surgery incisions wouldn’t settle down. The GP got me an ultrasound scan (clear), the Gastro tested me for bile acid malabsorption despite my pain not being related to that (test was clear) and suggested to the GP it might be nerve pain which could be treated with nerve blocks.

I realise now I’ve been putting up with a lot:

  • not being able to bend over most of the time as it flares a rib/midline pain
  • not being able to wear clothing on my waist and gradually not being able to wear clothing across my tummy
  • flares of costonchondritis
  • pain that felt like my liver (my bloods are clear)

So after all these years I put pressure on the midline of my abdomen and all across is tender. But it’s also tender everywhere across my stomach. Everywhere. This isn’t allodynia. This is pain inside, under the skin and fat.

Now I need to gently explore what the hell can cause pain and tenderness for 8 years and how I can treat it. I had already decided I would try microcurrent and have some silver electrodes delivered to do that soon.

I’ll use this post to track my findings in my research and reading. The rest of this post ay change and update as I have time and brain to read more.

Abdominal Pain – clinical science with some pointers and mehcanisms for diagnosis https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK412/

Read up on diaphragm pain and if it can refer to lower abdomen – seems less likely than peritoneal

Perintoneal Chronic Inflammation?
Would explain why the pain goes across such a wide area. Why I have extra sore spots near incisions. Check if interacts with costrochonditits too.

Check how interacts with vulvdynia?

Microcurrent can ease inflammation and heal endothial damage – might be a good starting point for this as possible peritoneal inflammation.


Read about Peritoneal fibrosis? https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC8039516/



Leave a comment