Push Me!

Since I first talked about my fundraising aspirations I’ve done some planning and scaled down the first event to be a bit more manageable.

stowe pool black and white D40

I’ve mapped out a ten mile route about my local city.  Two loops of 3.1 miles around the city, a short linking walk to next start point (0.2 miles) and then five circuits of the big pool/pond at 0.7 mile each. I’ll be asking volunteers to walk some or all of that distance with me and to push my chair for part of the route.

The larger loops are slightly more physically demanding as there are quite a lot of kerbs and chair tipping to be done but the final phase is flat and obstacle free.  That means hopefully that people of different abilities can take part.  Plus if the weather is good the pool/pond is a good place to gather to spectate and see the end of the 10 mile walk/push.

I’m aiming for a Sunday afternoon in July and have emailed my family today to see if I can enlist any willing volunteers to get me started.  Then I’ll get ME Research on board and look to publicise it all for International ME/CFS Awareness Day on 12th May giving me over 6 weeks to get it all sorted.

my wheelchair at stowe pool

At a leisurely paced walk with changeovers it’s going to take about 6 hours from start to finish which is an epic outing for me in my condition.  Plus I’ll be hoping to document the journey and do some live updates through the day.

But I have worked out that if I were to do a 10 mile walk by myself, doing as much as I am possibly capable of each week, it would take me around 80 weeks (yes eighty weeks) to finish.  I think that demonstrates the kind of debility I live with every day and will have to be included in my blurb to circulate.

I’ve also been working on a free weebly site for the event and have used google maps to plan the route and get the distances right.  It’s going to be a big challenge – organising it, publicising it, raising sponsorship and then actually doing it!  But it’s achievable.

UDPATE Change of date and distance

5 Responses to “Push Me!”


  1. 1 Dominique April 7, 2011 at 5:38 pm

    Rachael – I love this idea! Awesome.

    I am truly amazed that you are going to do this as I so understand the heoric feat this is!

    Any way I can be of help, please let me know!

    Good luck! 🙂

    • 2 rachelcreative April 8, 2011 at 2:43 pm

      Thanks Dominique!

      A few years ago my fundraising efforts began by me asking someone (my husband it turned out) to do a fundraising event for ME/CFS. I figure mostly funds are raised by healthy people on behalf of people they care about. So that might be an idea for some folks – ask someone to do a run or walk or event to raise money for a charity important to you.

      I’m going to need to put together some literature, including a How To Push Me guide, so maybe I can ask for feedback on that at some point. Also I’ll want to publicise it. Though I’m not keen on having my picture taken or talking to the media but am going to have to come around if I want maximum potential. Shudder.

  2. 3 Dominique April 8, 2011 at 4:50 pm

    Great suggestions Rachael. Thank you.

    BTW, if and when you create the Push Me Guide, if you create a badge for it with a link, I would be happy to showcase it on Invisible Awareness (soon to be renamed Becoming Visible 4ME)to help garner more awareness and attention to your cause.

    Just let me know.

  3. 4 ashy April 18, 2011 at 11:00 am

    Sorry I am slow to see this post – I am glad you are making progress with your plans and am impressed with it. It is going to be tough, I hope you won’t feel too awful afterwards (slightly worried for you!). I will help in any way I can to publicise and gather some sponsorship for you 🙂


  1. 1 Push Me Update « ChronicallyMe Trackback on April 21, 2011 at 9:00 am

Leave a Reply

Fundraising


Push It 11 Sep 2011

for ME Research

CFS Links & Resources

See my entire list of CFS/ME/CFIDS links to sites, articles and resources via del.io.us
http://del.icio.us/rachelcreative/M.E.
New stuff is added all the time.

