Prescription Prepayment Certificate PPC

It’s that time to renew my yearly Prescription Prepayment Certificate. Always seems a lot of money (£104 this year) so I’ve done a quick calculation based just on amitriptyline, sumatriptan and celevac which I get on prescription and it saves me £60 a year.

Not to mention any other things that might pop up from time to time. Plus it’s ever so easy as Growler can just produce the card each time without needing to have the cash on hand.

I might even save more than that because I forget how many things count as one item for a standard prescription charge (£7.20) and my GP is quite generous with how many items I get for each prescription.

You can laso pay by direct debit over 10 months without extra charge and then it’s automatically renewed each year.  Or just take it out for 3 months but this works out a bit more expensive – good for short term use though where an accute illness or injury needs a lot of prescriptions.

I would take a photo to illustrate my blog post but it’s kept in my husband’s wallet and I never see it as I don’t need to.  He’s the one always fetching prescriptions.

Incidentally my pharmacy (a Boots affiliate) keep asking my husband to bring me in for a health/medicines check. They say they’ve been asked by the government to do reviews for everyone having regular prescriptions to make sure everything is ok. He’s explained I am pretty much housebound and if he does manage to get me out the house he doesn’t want to spend that valuable time talking to the pharmacy about my medication when I have a regular review with my GP who is happy with what I’m taking.  The sensible pharmacist said not to worry about it but the newer more junior staff keep on asking.  Makes us suspect that the pharmacies are getting money from the government to do it. Very annoying.

6 Responses to “Prescription Prepayment Certificate PPC”


  1. 1 Hope Ann March 11, 2011 at 4:29 pm

    Have you considered using an internet pharmacy? My GP sends my prescriptions electronically to http://www.pharmacy2u.co.uk/ and they are sent to me in a day or two. When I need repeats, I just login and check off the drugs I need. It’s brilliant!

  2. 4 Hope Ann March 15, 2011 at 10:25 pm

    That’s a shame. It’s a wonderful service, and it’s been a huge help for me.

    • 5 rachelcreative March 16, 2011 at 11:47 am

      Yer it’s a great idea. It’s not too bad for us as the pharmacy is at the supermarket where hubbie does regular shopping. If it gets at all tricky for any reason I may write to my surgery practice manager and ask them to consider signing up – they could sell it on their own website as making life easier too.

      Thanks for telling me about it. I’d never joined up the dots to realise it was possible before! The only thing I would say is I’m not sure how their service deals with payment via PPC. I see exemption but not anything about PPC.

  3. 6 Michelle August 4, 2011 at 10:35 pm

    I would be in a lot of debt if PPC didn’t exist I have to have 14 items a month . If PPC didn’t exist, I would have to pay £105 a month, multiply that by 12 and its £1260!!! PPC has saved me a fortune over the last 10 years.
    The online prescription service sounds great, wish my doctors would participate. I’ll suggest it next time I am in there. Take care :0)


Leave a Reply

Fundraising


Push It 11 Sep 2011

for ME Research

CFS Links & Resources

See my entire list of CFS/ME/CFIDS links to sites, articles and resources via del.io.us
http://del.icio.us/rachelcreative/M.E.
New stuff is added all the time.

