Starting New IBS Probiotic – Saccharomyces Boulardii

I’ve been taking a probiotic with every meal for my IBS for 2 years (thank goodness for www.patientslikeme.com so I can keep track of these things more easily now!). I’ve been using Higher Nature’s Probio Daily which is lactobacillus sporogenes.

Lactobacillus sporogenes, acts as a ‘transient’ bacterium, helping to maintain intestinal and immune system health, a balance of good bacteria over bad, and regular bowel movement… One tablet contains 150 million bacteria.

To be honest I’m not really sure if it’s helped with IBS or not. It’s not as though if I don’t take it or I miss a day I notice any dramatic difference. But I figured it didn’t do any harm to take it either.

A friend reminded me about Florastor which she takes and which is a different kind of probiotic. It’s saccharomyces boulardii which is supposed to be good for IBS and IBD like Ulcerative Colitis and Crohn’s Disease.

Florastor has limited availability in the UK but it’s very expensive so I started searching for saccharomyces boulardii and came across Optibac for Bowel Calm. It used to be called DiarSafe thank goodness Optibac sounds so much better!

It’s still expensive but I got some on special offer to try and they arrived today so my saccharomyces boulardii experiment begins this evening.  I can’t say saccharomyces boulardii but notice how much I like copying and pasting it!

OptiBac Probiotics For bowel calm contains pure Saccharomyces boulardii, a natural and safe probiotic yeast with vast scientific research and documentation on its benefits in supporting bowel health, comfort and function.

S. boulardii has been internationally acclaimed as the number one probiotic for diarrhoea – to reduce discomfort and urgency and to restore control and regular bowel movements. For bowel calm Saccharomyces boulardii is a natural probiotic food supplement and not a medicine. It is a completely natural probiotic offering support for fast acting bowel calm, comfort and control when you need it most.

How does For bowel calm work?

Saccharomyces boulardii – a unique probiotic yeast which is sold widely in the US, Scandinavia, Germany & France. S. boulardii has undergone extensive clinical research demonstrating its ability to flush out pathogenic bacteria such as E. coli and Salmonella, in order to work against diarrhoea.

For IBS it’s 1 tablet a day which does it make somewhat more cost effective (it’s about £6 for 16 tablets and £25 for a box of 80 tablets) and it’s not the most expensive suppliment I’ve tried. Optibac is also much more widely available in the UK including direct from the company but shopping around you may get a good deal.

But if it does prove effective (fingers crossed) I’ll look to buy another brand of saccharomyces boulardii through iherb.com I think – there’s quite a few available.

So fingers crossed and I’ll see what happens with the old guts overt the coming weeks!

 

7 Responses to “Starting New IBS Probiotic – Saccharomyces Boulardii”


  1. 1 Sue Jackson March 11, 2011 at 1:14 am

    I hadn’t heard of this particular probiotic. Since I am lactose-intolerant and lots of probiotics are dairy-derived, I have taken All-Flora, a non-dairy one, for many years. It has about 10 strains of probiotic in it. I guess it works for me because I’ve been on high-dose antibiotics for Lyme for over 2 years with no stomach problems at all!

    Hope this one helps you –

    Sue

    • 2 rachelcreative March 11, 2011 at 11:54 am

      Sounds good Sue. I think I have been missing out limited to one kind of probiotic 😉

    • 3 Marie-Eve April 28, 2011 at 6:52 pm

      Hi Sue!

      I was wondering what were your Lyme symptoms before treatment. Which test did you use to be diagnosed? I have unresolved health issues and and am wondering if I should be tested for Lyme.

      Thanks!

      Marie

  2. 4 Soraya March 11, 2011 at 11:00 am

    Hello!

    I work for OptiBac Probiotics, and this blogpost came up in my Google Alerts! I hope you do not mind me adding my thoughts. Very happy to see someone writing about our product ‘For bowel calm’, you’re quite right that DiarSafe wasn’t the best name!

    If I may add though, we have done thorough price comparisons with similar products – offering our customers value is important to us – and I can absolutely guarantee that if you are looking for pure Saccharomyces boulardii, this is the best value product you will find. It may not seem the cheapest, but once you look at the billions counts per capsules, the daily recommended doses, and look out for any ‘time of manufacture’ guarantees (which are misleading to the consumer and state higher billions counts than in reality), this is the best product you will find in the UK in terms of value for money.

    If you have any queries, or want to keep in touch, please feel free to email me or get in touch at http://www.twitter.com/optibac or http://www.facebook.com/optibacprobiotics

    Excuse me for butting in, I hope you do not mind. Thanks for the mention and fingers crossed indeed, I hope the S. boulardii goes down a treat!

    • 5 rachelcreative March 11, 2011 at 11:48 am

      Thanks for your comment. I am popping over to the FB group now to ask a question about when I should take it for best effect.

      Interesting what you say about value thanks. I-herb may offer a cheaper alternative purely because it’s tax free although there is postage to the UK on top. But I would have to look into how many billions there are!

      Thanks again

  3. 6 thehealthyhorse August 4, 2012 at 10:19 pm

    Hi rachel, just wondering how the s.boulardii went for you. I’m looking for something to help with ibd-related urgency. Any good?

    • 7 rachelcreative September 21, 2012 at 10:20 am

      Hi – sorry for the delay in responding. It has helped yes and I continue to take it. It’s not been a magic cure and I still need to keep my diet with a larger proportion of soluble fibre than usual, take l-glutamine and digestive enzymes – but in combination it seems to help and I can eat some more normal things these days. I can eat red meat, chocolate, puddings, cheese, even some alcohol usually without bad reactions. But I do try to put “safer food” days either side where I can.


Leave a Reply

Fundraising


Push It 11 Sep 2011

for ME Research

CFS Links & Resources

See my entire list of CFS/ME/CFIDS links to sites, articles and resources via del.io.us
http://del.icio.us/rachelcreative/M.E.
New stuff is added all the time.

