Making My Own Tummy Remedy

I’ve been buying supplies today to make my own tummy medicine which I’m basing on Resolve but without the paracetamol.

Resolve is the most effective medicine I’ve found when I’ve got gassy, crampy discomfort from IBS and a sensitive stomach.  The problem with is it also contains a dose of paracetamol which often I don’t really need.  Or I’d rather take a co-codamol at another time in the day for something else.

I searched for an off the shelf solution – a stomach medicine that was similar without the pain killer.  I found Eno Salts which are similiar and do offer some relief.  But they’re not as good. Studying the ingredients I found that they don’t have Potassium Bircarbonate where Resolve does.

So the only way I was going to get what I needed was to make my own.

I realised that the Potassium Bicarb is indeed the missing element when I was searching for supplies and found this suppliment for soothing digestion. I’m also going to be adding some citric acid to make it fizz.

“Carbonates assist the small intestine in maintaining an alkaline pH. Carbonates may help improv…e tolerance to foods by improving digestive enzyme hydrolysis of proteins, fats and carbohydrates.”

http://www.bodykind.com/product/706_253-Bio_Carbonate-Digestive-Aid-90-Vegicaps.aspx?Referer=shopzilla_biocare+bio-carbonate+-+digestive+aid+-+90+vegicaps

I can buy Potassium Bicarbonate, Sodium Bicarbonate and Citric Acid (food grades) from ebay inexpensively.  (I could also add Vitamin C if I wanted like Resolve has but I don’t think I’ll need it.)  I’ve also bought some digital scales that measure tiny amounts (from 0.01g) and some small ziplock bags so I can make up ready doses for ease. 

I hope to find someway of measuring a single dose out so I can keep a large mix of it in a food container. The difficulty will be finding a spoon/scoop measure that happens to be the right volume for the weight I need for single dose.

I’ll share a recipe when and if I’ve mixed it successfully once I’ve gotten all my supplies.

It’s a little worrying to be ordering the scales, ziplock bags and citric acid used by shifty druggie types, not to mention the idea of potentially carrying little bags of white powder around (hmmmm) but I might only take Resolve and Enos sachets out in public to be safer.

The initial outlay is a little pricey but it works out around 15p a dose instead of 26p a dose for Resolve – plus of course I get what I need without the stuff I don’t.

I’m quite excited about it.  I hope it works!

6 Responses to “Making My Own Tummy Remedy”


  1. 1 ashysheela August 1, 2010 at 4:47 pm

    I hope it does work!

    I wouldn’t worry about carry the white power around, i am sure it would all be explained quite easily and you wouldn’t have to spend a night in the cells 😉 Just don’t start dealing on the street corner and i doubt anyone will notice/body search you!

  2. 2 Jo August 2, 2010 at 8:45 am

    This is awesomely creative of you. I’m following with interest.

  3. 3 katy August 4, 2010 at 3:07 am

    Fingers crossed that it works! I think you are probably right to just carry the name brand stuff in public though. Having to explain and possibly wait while they check it out could be very tiring. Lol, I’ll bake you a cake with a file it it, 😛 Very take charge of you to find an alternative solution! ^5

  4. 5 ashysheela August 4, 2010 at 9:43 am

    salt raises blood pressure and potassium lowers it. Sure you found that out while researching this, just in case you find your OI is worse, maybe lay off the latter!


Leave a Reply

Fundraising


Push It 11 Sep 2011

for ME Research

CFS Links & Resources

See my entire list of CFS/ME/CFIDS links to sites, articles and resources via del.io.us
http://del.icio.us/rachelcreative/M.E.
New stuff is added all the time.

