This Stuff Actually Works

I should really listen to my mum.  She suggested I try Aqueous Cream for my eczema. It’s really cheap, she said. You can use it as a soap, she said.  Use it as a soap? That’s ridiculous. Well, no, apprently not.

It cost me £1.49 for a big tub (which is probably going to last me a year at least) and it does indeed make for fab soap.  Washing my hands is suddenly not the excruiating experience it used to be – it’s actually rather pleasant.  And it’s helped my Pompholyx eczema loads.

Sorry mum – you did know best.

Whilst I was buying up supplies from the online pharmacist I decided to try this dry shampoo stuff too.  It gets lots of good reviews from people who use it because they’re on the run – not just people who are too knackered to wash their hair when they’re getting unexpected visitors or venturing out and have used all their energy already.

I had a squirt of Batist Dry Shampoo Tropical today – my hair wasn’t totally minging but looking a bit limp and on the turn.  Looking decidely deshevelled.  And it went “pooooof” – all lifted and not limp and not greasy.  Weird!  My hair looked a bit lighter – probably because I hadn’t brused it out properly but being blonde it doesn’t matter too much to me.  And I like the tropical smell personally so I even whiff a bit cleaner than I did when I got up. Yeah!

I’m not on commission – I’m only linking to where I bought stuff in case anyone wants to know more and that site has been good value.  I like to get my hayfever tablets from them as they are so cheap on the generic brand stuff.  And I’ve bought all sorts of stuff from them.

So I have two positives to share with you.  This is to make up for (and hide) my distinct tired and grumpy self which has a big fat dose of M.E. plus PMT complete with cravings that I can’t act on because my IBS is flaring and hayfever with scratching throat and sore eyes. Grumble.  But at least I have exotic hair and clean hands.

6 Responses to “This Stuff Actually Works”


  1. 1 Cusp July 7, 2010 at 2:38 pm

    ..and all because you’re worth it :O)

  2. 3 ashysheela July 7, 2010 at 5:39 pm

    watch out for neck injuries with all that hair flickin’!

    I should take a leaf out of your book and use my emollient stuff to wash my hands too, mine are all scaly also and i know the soap doesn’t help. Just have not got around to putting some by the sink… i will do it!

    Interesting about the shampoo, sounds really handy, i have wondered about it.

  3. 4 ashysheela July 7, 2010 at 5:43 pm

    ooh, just clicked on your link – that’s exactly what i have on my hands! I was not sure what it was before, having googled eczema and it not coming up looking familiar… my blisters are only tiny though and it’s not too itchy. Hurts more at the dry crusty fissure stage…

    • 5 rachelcreative July 8, 2010 at 8:47 am

      I was determined to find out more because having blisters as part of your ezcema I hadn’t heard of before. The blisters burn so much for me 😦 But mine are smaller than the photo on that page too. Then when/if it cracks that’s super hurty too.

      It’s better when it’s just dry although this doesn’t get it cleared up. Because when it’s dry and I moisturise it (eg E45) the blisters pop up again. Ow!

      But the aqueous stuff does help a lot. I had to start wearing gloves to paint as I didn’t want to have to wash my hands.

      I read that you have to keep the treatment up for 4 months after it clears as it can come back at any point during that time. Fan-tas-tic 😦

  4. 6 Jo July 8, 2010 at 8:57 am

    Yay! It’s so great when you find something that works well. As they say, ‘every little helps’ when you are dealing with this crappy condition. Hope your tummy feels better soon.


Leave a Reply

Fundraising


Push It 11 Sep 2011

for ME Research

CFS Links & Resources

See my entire list of CFS/ME/CFIDS links to sites, articles and resources via del.io.us
http://del.icio.us/rachelcreative/M.E.
New stuff is added all the time.

