Plodding Along

Yep folks I’m plodding along.  Generally OK but still adjusting to the extra energy LDN is giving me which is giving a slight boom and bust on a day to day level.  But it’s not a crazy wild amount of energy or boom/bust.

I’m at the point where I’m saying that LDN is helping me.  It’s definately doing something, something positive.  Whether the improvement picks up I don’t know.  Whether I’m getting better but weakened from years of debility and need to gradually build up my strength I don’t know either.

But I do notice a change for the better overall.

It’s May and so I’ll be (hopefully) kept busy with bloggers doing posts for ME/CFS Awareness and keeping the http://meaware.wordpress.com blog and Facebook pages up to date.

Also the Creative for a Second journal will be with me soon.  Growler’s birthday is coming up (a visit to Wales and the inlaws is due).  Plus I still have some web artwork to finish for my client and 3 commissioned paintings in the pipeline. 

I’m getting swept up in the UK election and desperately wanting a change in British politics – although I’m phsyically anxious at the idea of a Conservative majority.  I’m hoping to stop up most of the night next Thursday to watch the results coming in.

Combined with a visit to the inlaws next weekend means I might be a bit of mess for ME/CFS International Awareness Day on the 12th May!

But that’s ME/CFS – it doesn’t stop just because there’s stuff you want or need to do.  So that might be my garbled message to tell the world.

LDN might be helping but it’s not a miracle drug for me.  No overnight remission for this gal.  If you want more detail about my LDN experience I’m keeping a weekly diary at Patients Like Me  but I’m only sharing it with members at the moment rather than have the whole world be able to see it.  If you sign up let me know and I’ll give you my username.

I will continue to report back here about my LDN use too.

In other news a sign of my improved energy reserves is I’ve started falling in love with baking.  Initially in an attempt to make treats that I could eat safely with my IBS but now also because baking something to give to others is so satisfying!  I’ve made 3 batches of biscuits, a vegan cake, 2 batches of scones and 2 lots of marshmallow crispies in the last month.  I just took delivery of a bun/tart tin so hoping to try wheat free pastry tarts next time I have the energy to do something.  Also maybe fairy cakes.

Baking and politics have been somewhat of a distraction from art.  But I’m starting to feel like the art groove is returning.  Just in time for the Creative for a Second journal and ME/CFS Awareness blogging arriving! Phew!  Maybe I will find something arty to contribute about ME/CFS this month after all.

5 Responses to “Plodding Along”


  1. 1 Jo May 2, 2010 at 8:36 am

    Hi, I’m hoping to get work on the journal finished and in the post by the middle/end of the week. So you have a few days yet.

    Shows what sort of person you are that the minute you get some spare energy you create and then give it away. 🙂

  2. 2 ashysheela May 3, 2010 at 10:04 am

    It’s nice to have a new passion! Glad you are finding the creative work a bit easier now and very happy to hear the LDN is having some positive effects overall. Just having a bit more activity in your life will hopefully have knock-on positive effects and i am sure you will relearn to pace etc as you go. I hope there is more to come, but any progress is good 🙂

  3. 3 Tricia May 10, 2010 at 1:04 am

    IBS-friendly baking? Sounds yummy! Plan to share any recipes?

    • 4 rachelcreative May 16, 2010 at 10:00 am

      Well lets say most of the baking is IBS friendlier – but not IBS friendly. Like i made biscuits from rice flour but it still has a lot of butter in. Which I can get away with most days.

      But yes good idea I should collect up some recipes as I find them and share 🙂

  4. 5 Sue Jackson May 10, 2010 at 11:09 pm

    Glad you’re doing fairly well these days, Rachel. LDN is the same for me – no miracle cure but I do better on it than off.

    Sounds like a busy week for you – take time to rest!!

    Sue


Leave a Reply

Fundraising


Push It 11 Sep 2011

for ME Research

CFS Links & Resources

See my entire list of CFS/ME/CFIDS links to sites, articles and resources via del.io.us
http://del.icio.us/rachelcreative/M.E.
New stuff is added all the time.

