And, Also

I can finally say I’m free of the virus and have felt things picking up in the last week.  In fact I think I had a LDN induced session of activity which was used for baking.  I made buckwheat biscuits as I’ve been craving crunchy treats as well as some scones for Growler for a treat.

The LDN makes me feel I can do more.  But I did end up with a thumping headache which lasted around 3 days and stiff neck/shoulders which has persisted for 4 or 5 days and is still lingering.

Which is a good time to mention I’ve ordered a TENS machine to see if I can get some relief when the pain is rising above the amitriptyline buffer.  I did try a dose of beloved co-codamol when my head was in full thump and (due to LDN) it didn’t seem to do anything.  It may have made my head worse but it didn’t help.  To the point I was starting to doubt if I had a batch of co-codamol missing the drugs.

The hot wheat bag is a help but does require frequent re-heating and isn’t always the most practical thing. So yes a TENS machine on order, plus a book on using TENS properly and some skin prep cleanser for the electrodes.  Because if I’m in enough pain to want to use TENS I’m pretty sure I won’t have beautifully cleansed skin on which to plonk the electrodes.

I hope I get along ok with TENS but I’ll only know by trying.  The good thing is it’s not just neck and shoulders I can use it for, but for headaches, menstrual cramps and even IBS apparently.

I am slowly getting bits of work done but it’s going slowly with bigger breaks between than I have been used to. But at least I’m getting some done.

My brother’s fiance is coming tomorrow for what will be her third cleaning visit.  We’re also trying to continue the de-clutter and organising.  The pile of stuff to take to a car boot sale is getting massive and somehow I have to get the oomph to organise her, my brother and Growler to actually go and do a boot sale with it all.

The house hunting for a new rental property is picking up and looking more optimistic.  We had hoped that our landlord may pursue an offer from our lovely neighbours to buy the house we rent and keep us on as tenants.  But our landlord isn’t interested.  He has however, in an attempt to secure us staying a little longer, offered a contribution towards our fuel costs until the windows are replaced.  The windows which he promised to replace before we moved in over 6 and half years ago. 

We’re still waiting to see the cheque he promised however.  Perhaps that promise will be as empty as the others. If we do get it then it’s a bonus.  If not nothing lost.

We’ve revisited our budget and made the decision that we’re not going to find the right house AND spend less than we do now even with more efficient fuel bills.  So we’re prepared to pay as much or a little extra if it means we can live somewhere we love.  As I spend 99% of my time in our home it’s important it’s a place I really want to be.

The relaxing of the budget constraints has opened up more properties.  We don’t need another large house but we can’t get a 2 bedroom place with good sized roos.  Anyway there’s more to look at.  House viewings are tiring, even though they are over so quickly.  But there’s a certain emotional investment – anticipation, disappointment, excitment – in it all which makes it tiring I think.

There’s more to say I think but as there’s lots swirling around my brain my cognitives keep failing me.

8 Responses to “And, Also”


  1. 1 ashysheela April 12, 2010 at 10:57 pm

    hope the TENS suits you – i used to use mine for period pain and it did REALLY help. I have been using it a lot recently for my headaches – mine says not to put above the neck but i find it helps if i put on my shoulders when i have a headache – my shoulders usually seem to be part of the issue at such times anyway and i think the effect travels to local areas. I still take painkillers but it really helps while they kick in or as added relief.

    (it doesn’t seem to work for itching but hey ho.)

    My cognitives also not great so won’t comment on other aspects of your post, but hope you have house-success soon – i can imagine it would be exhausting to do viewings.

    • 2 rachelcreative April 13, 2010 at 9:36 am

      I think it’s safe to put it on the back part of your neck. But not on the front (throat) or the sides because that can cause serious problems with blood pressure. I’ve seen diagrams which suggest putting electrodes on the back of the neck and shoulders for pain there.

      Can’t find links now. This is why I ordered a book too which a review says is very thorough.

      It’s only been being a week clear of the virus that I’ve been convinced it’s finally gone.

      • 3 ashysheela April 13, 2010 at 10:05 am

        interesting – i shall try it a little higher on back of neck 🙂 been a while since i consulted the instructions – maybe i just forgot… think you got a v good price for a twin channel. Just saw it has varied time settings – that is great – mine is basic and does 15 mins or… 15 mins, so i have to keep restarting it. Good luck with it!

        Just as an aside – don’t ever buy the paingone pen – hurts more than relieves! Just saw it come up on the bottom of the amazon page… ouch!

        The cushion looks good – i have the whole back kind(looks like a car seat) someone gave it to me, not sure of the brand. I find it a bit much and can leave me feeling quite bruised, but i think with the cushion you can move into the right place a bit more and is probably more padded over the rotating parts…

        I also find activity causes extra pain, actually i am just in a fair amount of pain anyway right now – it really does drag you down eh?

  2. 4 ashysheela April 12, 2010 at 10:57 pm

    PS was wondering how you were and so glad virus is GONE!

  3. 5 Jozephine April 13, 2010 at 8:31 am

    I admire your determination not to take ‘second best’ with the house. I have so often lived in dumps for convenience or because I was in a hurry. Ironically, the CFS has made me more selective and caring about myself. There will be a house out there for you, I’m sure of it.

    Your current landlord may be able to get a Warm Front grant for replacing windows. Might be worth looking into. Although he does sound like the unreceptive type.

    And you’ve inspired me to look into TENS. I know what you mean by the amitriptyline buffer. Also, I tend to avoid activity as, apart from the post-exertional malaise, I get bad pain afterwards. It might help with that and take away some of the fear. Let us know how you get on with it.

    • 6 rachelcreative April 13, 2010 at 9:46 am

      Jozephine I actually had a warm front grant awarded but they do not cover new windows. I got awarded free cavity wall insulation, loft insulation top up and free low energy light bulbs. We decided not to get the work done until the windows had been replaced – as he had promised he was getting right on it. No point me investing in his house if he wasn’t going too.

      Plus if he wasn’t going to change the windows then we would have to move and I may need the grant for the next house.

      That’s my problem with activity too. Sometimes exertion triggers IBS attacks but sometimes it leaves me with a lot of pain and migraine. If I could use TENS to help with that then I might be able to do a little bit more than I can at the moment. We shall see! I’m also looking at a massage cushion which I think might help but might wait to buy that – although the price is pretty good and this one does have good reviews http://is.gd/bqIX4

      With TENS I went for the Tenscare Touch because it has two channels, each can be set to different strength so you can treat one large area or two smaller areas at same time. It’s also supposed to be easy to use with lots of preset programmes. And it was £23 from Amazon which is a pretty good price http://is.gd/bqJbB

      • 7 Jozephine April 13, 2010 at 10:35 am

        Had a similar issue with a previous landlord. We would have been eligible for WF but she just wasn’t interested, or couldn’t afford the work. My daughter has an ongoing prob with mould in her flat which affects her partner’s asthma. Same difficulty in getting the landlord to engage with the problem.

        Thanks for saving me the effort in researching TENS. £23 isn’t too bad at all and is probably worth the gamble. 🙂

  4. 8 Sue April 13, 2010 at 3:08 pm

    Hi, Rachel –

    So glad to hear you’re doing better! It was an awful virus season, even for healthy people!

    I remember using TENS for physical therapy when I hurt my back (a lifetime ago, just after college!), but I don’t have much pain with CFS – just the flu-like achiness sometimes. I hope it works for you.

    Yes, house hunting is tiring! I can’t imagine doing it with CFS,not to mention actually moving. We’ve been in our house for 15 years now. I am still jealous of your clutter busting mission, though! I could use some of that. It’s so wonderful that you’ve got such good support from your family.

    Hope things continue to improve for you –

    Sue


Leave a Reply

Fundraising


Push It 11 Sep 2011

for ME Research

CFS Links & Resources

See my entire list of CFS/ME/CFIDS links to sites, articles and resources via del.io.us
http://del.icio.us/rachelcreative/M.E.
New stuff is added all the time.

