DLA Renewal Success

It’s brilliant wonderful news that my DLA (Disability Living Allowance) renewal has been successful!  I got the letter today and was so relieved I had a little cry.

I still can’t quite believe it.  I applied 4 months ago and it’s taken longer than last time for them to reach a decision.  And my last award ran out in October so it’s been difficult (and stressful) managing these last few months.

Great news is they have increased my mobility award, my care component is middle rate like last time.  Also fantastic is my award is for 5 years (it was 2 years last time).  That takes a bit of pressure of too.  Like my dad said, hopefully I won’t need to apply again – hopefully I’ll be better.  That would be great.  Much better than qualifying for assistance would be not needing it!

I found the applying and the waiting so stressful.  Now the decision is here and I’ve got an award I instantly feel like a fraud which is so silly.  Because everything I said in my application is true and they made my award based on my application and my doctors report.

I am so so so grateful to have the GP I do.  Without her support I am pretty sure the outcome would be different.  They wouldn’t award on my application alone, they wanted a doctors report.  Once they got it it went through quickly.  Hurrah!

This time I am going to ask for a copy of the doctors report.  I am curious but also concious that they can review my DLA at any time and if I move out of area or my doctor stops practicing it would good to have her report to refer to.

So yes a massive relief and loads of pressure off. 

I can now afford my D-Ribose, my yearly pre-payment prescription certificate (which I’ve just had to renew), my vitamins, my private prescriptions for LDN, my tummy soothing meds (not on prescription), my special dietary food & treats for my IBS  and I can pay someone (hopefully my brother’s fiance) to do some cleaning for me and maybe a bit of gardening too. 

I could even afford to get my wheelchair serviced perhaps.  One of my brakes is a bit wonky after my dad was a bit too keen to push off before I’d released the brakes.  I’m not sure it’s really worth the effort yet.  But it’s one of those things that’s an extra expense that I could afford to get done.

My enthusiasm has been a little dampened a little by a visit from our landlord this evening.  But that’s another blog post.  This one is a truimphant, if softly spoken – yeah!  I got my DLA and life just got a little bit easier.

7 Responses to “DLA Renewal Success”


  1. 1 Shelli March 16, 2010 at 1:06 am

    I’m so happy for you! I’m glad you don’t have that stress hanging over your head anymore. I know that just makes matters worse. I’ve just started D-ribose, so I’m interested in knowing how that works for you.

  2. 2 greenwords March 16, 2010 at 8:13 am

    Wonderful news, I’m thrilled for you!

  3. 3 Jozephine March 16, 2010 at 9:34 am

    This is truly excellent news. I know exactly what you mean by feeling a fraud. I’m on middle rate care and higher mobility and on good days I’m afraid to go out without my stick in case ‘they’ are watching.

    My current award runs out in July, so I’d better get my application in now. Thanks for the reminder.

    Let’s hope this award gives you a bit of wiggle room for recovery. A cleaner is a great idea (although I recommend earplugs for their visit).

    Congratulations!

    • 4 Sassy March 16, 2010 at 7:29 pm

      Hello!

      I hope you don’t mind me posting here.
      I found your blog a couple of days ago via the Benefits and Work website.

      I have been suffering with CFS for 4 years now, officially diagnosed for 2. I was mild/moderate could work small hours and lead a reasonably normal life if I broke things down into chunks and rested as much as possible.
      I had a massive crash back in August and have been off work since.
      I’ve deteriorated to the point now where I am housebound, rely on crutches (although they are really beginning to put my arms under stress) and I need help with all my personal care.

      I went to the Rheumotolagist today for the first time and have been given Amitriptilyne to co-incide with the floexetine I take as being housebound and in so much pain has brought me down so low.

      I just wanted to comment to congratulate you on your DLA renewal, I’m just entering that minefield as I applied for the first time 3 weeks ago.

      Your journal is fantastic and so informative as I have very little support apart from my partner as all my friends and work colleagues have lost interest in me since I’ve got so bad, it’s reassuring to know I’m not alone in my symptoms and feelings and that the DWP can listen to CFS sufferers.
      My GP is very supportive so I’m hoping when the DWP write to him his letter will be the key like your GP’s was.

      Sassy
      -xxx-

  4. 5 Sherrie Sisk March 22, 2010 at 2:02 pm

    That’s awesome! I know the stress financial crisis brings, and it doesn’t do us any good, does it?

    I also know what you mean about the ick factor — and the previous commenter who said she’s scared to go out without her walking stick even on good days in case she’s being “watched” rings oh, so true. And you’re not being paranoid – here in the states there are any number of stories about people being filmed and not only losing their benefits but actually being PROSECUTED, criminally.

    Now, maybe those stories are extreme examples – maybe those folks actually did defraud the government by lying. But the potential there scares the crap out of me, really.

  5. 6 pammy July 30, 2010 at 11:49 pm

    hi really good news on your award,iam in a bit of a dilemia,my disabiltys have got worse since applying for dla over 5 yrs ago,i get high rate mobility and med rate care,i need more care now,but i dont know wether to apply you hear such stories,but i really have gone downhill,what do you all think,thanks pam x

    • 7 rachelcreative August 1, 2010 at 3:09 pm

      I’m no expert or one to advise anybody. I know if your condition changes you are supposed to inform DWP of the changes. I’ve heard some terrible stories about people telling them of changes for the worse and getting less award but I think the advice is to fill out that horrendous form all over again to tell them EVERYTHING so there’s no room for them to “misunderstand”. If you know what I mean.

      I always recommend the http://www.benefitsandwork.co.uk people because their guides for DLA made such a difference to the success of my application (as did a supportive GP).

      I think if you’re entitled to the support you should make a claim for it. I’m also pragmatic enough to know that’s much easier to do if you have some support in making your application – even if it’s a friend or family member to help do the tedious repeatitive form filling part.


Leave a Reply

Fundraising


Push It 11 Sep 2011

for ME Research

CFS Links & Resources

See my entire list of CFS/ME/CFIDS links to sites, articles and resources via del.io.us
http://del.icio.us/rachelcreative/M.E.
New stuff is added all the time.

