Out in The Big Big Outside World

So we had our long weekend in the Lake District and it was brilliant.  Tiring but really enjoyable. We arrived Friday, had a meal with my dad and his partner and then drinks with my eldest brother, his girlfriend and my mom when they arrived a little later.

We were all staying in a pub at Pooley Bridge near Ullswater. This is Ullswater taken a mile or so down the road:

20100213 ullswater

Saturday was a big day. Up and dresses for breakfast around 8.30am, then a long scenic drive to Blea Tarn where we (all of us) went for a wheelie walk.  My eldest brother R had volunteered to push me and had checked out accessible routes in the Lake District and between us we selected a smooth access walk at Blea Tarn.  Except flooding in November had damaged the path and it was pretty hard work – for R!  He certainly got a work out and I spent quite a lot of time tipped back on two wheels to traverse the rocky bits.

I did take some pictures on the walk but they’re on film so I’ll show those once they’re developed.  I also got snapped by my brother and my dad’s partner – I dread to think what I look like!  It was around 3 degrees celsius so I was wearing a vest, thermal vest, top, cardigan, fleece top, fleece jacket, hoodie and waterproof coat!  Plus 2 scarves, a hat, gloves and thermal trousers.  At least I was warm – just about!

It was so quiet and really beautiful.  Strange to be out with Growler, my mum, my dad, his partner, R and his girlfriend but good.  Strange too for Growler to see someone else pushing me in my chair!  Although he did help out on the way back as R tackled part of the “for some” path which was really hard work!

After the walk Growler, me and dad drove back through the beautiful road called “The Struggle” and I took some pics on my mobile as we drove along so I could share it with you all.

It was a glorious sunny day with some snow still lingering on the higher mountains and parts that were shaded.

20100213 the struggle 007

20100213 the struggle 006

20100213 the struggle 005

20100213 the struggle 004

Back at the inn Growler, dad and me sat in the bar to watch Wales playing Scotland in the rugby Six Nations.  It was a stressful match which got very exciting towards the end. 

After we went up to our room and I was feeling pretty tired by now. The late night and early rising hadn’t set me up well for the day and I forgot to take my d-ribose in the morning! Oh well. 

I had a lie down for a couple of hours and really didn’t feel much like going to the party.  Did I want to get changed & drag myself out to a Ceilidh to watch everyone else dance?  However, this was my cousin’s 50th birthday celebration (shared with her husband also 50 this year) and I hardly ever get to see them.  We’d come all that way and the party was just 2 miles down the road.  How could I not go when I was so close?

So I dragged myself up to get changed and realised although I was knackered I didn’t feel utterly wiped.  We decided to go for an hour or so then come back (to bed!) but we actually stayed a bit longer than that.  It was actually great fun watching my brother and my mom trying to get to grips with the dances – more fun when they got it wrong actually 🙂  We laughed a lot!  Then when the buffet started (as I was feeling a bit bleurgh anyway) we said our goodbyes and slipped away.  My cousin and her husband had arranged an open house on Sunday morning so I knew I could get to see them then too.

I had a great sleep and was up, dressed and down to breakfast at 8am on Sunday (Valentines Day!).  Although breakfast turned out to be a drawn out affair as they were having kitchen problems.  We packed up and headed to my cousin’s house a couple of miles away for their open house.  I got introduced to members of her husband’s family and spent quite a while chatting with my other cousin (brother of the host) and his wife. It was so nice to catch up and all very relaxed.

I did feel pretty zonked when we left but settled in for the long drive home.  We stopped at Morecombe and had a little lunch from leftovers from my cousin’s party whilst looking out over the sea.  We got home at tea time and were both really ready for an early night.

I was up on Monday to get dressed for the doctors by 10am but really surprised myself.  Although I was really knackered my brain was still working well and it felts a different sort of tired to pre-LDN.

I did need to take more migraine meds than usual over the weekend to get through it and I enjoyed “normal” food but had some IBS problems to deal with as a result.  I was shattered but just not quite like I expected, or how I would expect to be pre-LDN.  We did plan carefully, kept things as manageable as possible and allowed extra time for rests but I managed better than I hoped.  So all in all a really excellent weekend.

5 Responses to “Out in The Big Big Outside World”


  1. 1 ashysheela February 16, 2010 at 3:09 pm

    those photos are stunning – esp the first of “The Struggle” Wow! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    So pleased you managed to do so much and your body largely cooperated. Hope you are not having too much of a delayed reaction! I am so pleased the LDN seems to be having some effect – it must feel so exciting?

  2. 2 Sue February 16, 2010 at 4:44 pm

    So glad you were able to enjoy your trip and your weekend. Beautiful pictures!

    I forgot that you take D-ribose. My Lyme doc just suggested I try it. I already have a bottle, but I was waiting until a time when things were fairly even and I wasn’t trying anything else new, so I can tell if it works for me. Maybe I’ll give it a try this week!

    Sue

  3. 3 cusp February 16, 2010 at 5:07 pm

    What a lovely and welcome post. So ggod to hear that it all went well and that you enjoyed yourself and surprised yourself with hwat you could achieve.

    Looking forward to seeing the other photos when developed.

  4. 4 rachelcreative February 16, 2010 at 5:58 pm

    Thanks. It is exciting and surprising but I’m not getting ahead of myself. Trying to be cautious but optmisitic.

  5. 5 Jozephine February 17, 2010 at 9:49 am

    Thank you for sharing this. I got lots of vicarious enjoyment out of it and the photos are lovely. Sounds like you held up pretty well too. Excellent! What lovely supportive friends and family you have 🙂


Leave a Reply

Fundraising


Push It 11 Sep 2011

for ME Research

CFS Links & Resources

See my entire list of CFS/ME/CFIDS links to sites, articles and resources via del.io.us
http://del.icio.us/rachelcreative/M.E.
New stuff is added all the time.

