Amitriptyline Dosage Increase Settling Down

Within a week of writing about the weird paradoxical side effects I was getting from increasing my amitriptyline dose, things settled down considerably.

I’m still taking the increased dose of 30mg nightly (I take it around 8pm).  In particular the return of a lot of my pain when increasing the dose was incredibly difficult to cope with.  But sure enough that stopped.

I increased my dosage from 20mg to 30mg on 24th October.  The side effects, most notably lots of pain, became much worse in the second week and peaked by the end of that week, the 7th November.  By the end of week 3 it had settled down considerably.

Now, nearly 5 weeks after changing the dosage things are much better.  I’m not sure the pain killing effect has increased dramatically (time will tell when I can look back at how often I’m getting migraines and so on).  It’s difficult to know if it’s working or if I am not in pain anyway.

I do feel a bit more groggy first thing on waking than I did before the dosage increase.  But that’s a lot easier than it was too.  Maybe I need to take it a little earlier, or maybe it will settle in a week or so too.

What the 2 weeks of side effects reminded though was how bad things used to be before I started taking low dose amitriptyline for pain relief.  It really does make a big difference.  It doesn’t keep me totally pain free but life is a lot more comfortable and manageable with it.

Looks like persisting worked this time.  Those weird side effects went after a few weeks – just like when I first started on 20mg.

6 Responses to “Amitriptyline Dosage Increase Settling Down”


  1. 1 Jozephine November 26, 2009 at 3:44 pm

    Hmmmm, interesting. But how great the problem is settling down!

    I take mine around 7.30 at night. It varies with how well I am. If I’m weller, they kick in more quickly. The general rule of thumb is take them 13 hours before you want to wake up. Take ’em too early though and you somehow miss the ‘hump’ and are wide awake by bedtime.

    It’s brilliant how you have stuck with it. Respect!

    • 2 rachelcreative November 26, 2009 at 4:55 pm

      Yes it doesn’t help that I forget to take them even with a reminder alarm on my mobile phone and my husband reminding me. Ooops! Next week I might roll it back another hour and see what happens. Thanks!

  2. 3 Sue November 30, 2009 at 9:33 pm

    Good to hear you’re feeling better and the amitriptyline is helping. I tried it years ago for sleep dysfunction, but even at 10 mg, it made me groggy in the mornings, so I switched to other meds. Glad to hear it’s helping you!

    Sue

  3. 5 Sherrie Sisk December 2, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    Yeah, count me in the “didn’t work for me” group but I’m so happy when anyone gets even a little better, so – yay!

  4. 6 Seb December 6, 2009 at 5:15 pm

    I’ve been taking 10mg of Amitriptyline at night for a while now, also to help with pain. I think it really has helped.

    My pain has gotten better though in the past months since I’ve started the antibiotics, so I’m gradually easing down on my amitriptyline dosage. Really hard to sleep at 1st, I’m like a wired squirrel on crack, hehe…


Leave a Reply

Fundraising


Push It 11 Sep 2011

for ME Research

CFS Links & Resources

See my entire list of CFS/ME/CFIDS links to sites, articles and resources via del.io.us
http://del.icio.us/rachelcreative/M.E.
New stuff is added all the time.

