Clutter Buster

I had a visit this morning from my brother’s girlfriend.  She moved in with him a few months ago so she’s now local.  She’s been helping me with decluttering and sorting stuff out in preparation for moving house (not found a house to move to yet though).

She came to do a bit more today, to help with the physical stuff, cleaning as she goes and also figure out what to keep, what to throw and what to sell.

We’ve had to cancel a couple of sessions because I haven’t been well enough.  And I can only cope with around an hour of sorting at a time.  Just the directing, assessing and deciding proves quite exhausting.

What is marvellous is just how much she can achieve in an hour being all healthy and fit and strong.  Plus she loves to organise and to clean!  I’m starting to think she is an angel.

Whilst I was flicking through a box of folders, assessing what to keep and what it was now time to ditch so she decided she would just hoover the stairs. 

I poured over more folders and papers and old artwork, then realised the hoover sounds where coming from the lounge.  I turned my attention to a drawer full of floppy discs, electronics and PC cables. Eventually she popped her head up the stairs and said (sheepishly) “I got a bit carried away … I sort of hoovered the lounge … and had a bit of flick round downstairs …”  And she beamed at me.

How such a simple thing can make a heart sing!

So a bit more sorting, a bin bag of recycling, a bin bag of rubbish and me with wobbly legs it was time for me to finish for the time being.  “You go sit down until your brother comes and I’ll just have a little hoover upstairs …”

My brother arrives to see her hoovering like a demon at the top of the stairs and grinning from ear to ear.  The woman is a cleaning machine!

I’ve been helping my brother to get to grips with some web design software so he can maintain his own web site instead of waiting for me to do updates for him.  It’s great for him to be able to do this himself but just a few technical details left to explain.  Except while I’m engrossed in explaining technical things and going over his web site design the cleaning demon has disappeared.  My brain, becoming mushier and foggier by the minute realises there’s an odd sound coming from the kitchen … the sound of … well, serious cleaning.

She returns some time later to the lounge beaming a wide smile.  Thank you for whatever you just did in the kitchen.

I’ve had repeated stresses about cleaning and clutter and cleaning and CLEANING which I’ve blogged about a few times since I got ill.  Someone in the comments once suggested I think about everyone I knew and see if any of them would like a bit of extra cash in return for doing a bit of cleaning for me.  I didn’t know anyone who fitted the bill.

Now it seems I do. Hurrah!

Before she started the extended hoovering and sneaked into the kitchen to wipe down surfaces I’d raised the idea of whether, if I get my DLA renewed, she’d like to do a bit each week for which I would pay her.  And yes she would.  Brilliant!  So I think me saying I needed the help was the cue to just get stuck in.

She was a bit worried that Growler might be offended.  He wasn’t.  But he did feel guilty.  Guilty it needed doing.  But as I said, accept it in the spirit it was given.  Plus she does indeed love cleaning, it is no lie, because she was smiling more when she left than when she arrived! 

There’s more to do but just that couple of hours made me so happy.

So another pile of my clutter has been sorted, my carpets are hoovered (so Growler has one less job this weekend), my kitchen is cleaner and if I get my DLA I have someone lovely who’ll come and do a bit of cleaning regularly. An uplifting sort of a day.

6 Responses to “Clutter Buster”


  1. 1 Nina November 13, 2009 at 10:30 pm

    Oh wow; how wonderful:-)

  2. 2 Sue November 13, 2009 at 11:58 pm

    What a wonderful day! nothing cheers me up more than getting rid of clutter – our home office is long overdue. Once I got CFS, we decided having a cleaning service was now a necessity rather than a luxury, even now when money is tight. It’s just not worth it for me to clean and then crash afterwards, and my husband has his hands full with everything else. So glad you’ve found a solution that works for you – what a wonderful person she is! Tell your brother to hang onto her…

    Sue

  3. 3 ashysheela November 14, 2009 at 10:55 am

    this is excellent, and it is good to have someone you get on with to do it as well, rather than strangers who can be a bit odd (i speak from experience!). Fingers crossed on the DLA front (they already were)… she is a real life Monica (from Friends)!

  4. 4 Jozephine November 14, 2009 at 4:00 pm

    Isn’t she wonderful! She wouldn’t like to start a cleaning business would she?

    I really miss my last cleaning Angel. She would not only clean, but sort of cleanse the aura as she went – not deliberately, it would just happen. When we are so limited in energy it is so hard to spend it on household necessities.

    I find changing the bed particularly hard.

    So happy for you.

  5. 5 Sherrie Sisk November 15, 2009 at 1:26 pm

    Wow I’m proud of you. Seriously. I have a REAL problem letting other people help me with cleaning. It’s weird — I’ll take assistance in almost any other form, but there’s something about letting people in to help me clean that makes me feel icky. It’s all projected fears that they’re judging me, of course, which is ridiculous, of COURSE, yet I still struggle w/ these feelings!

    So, you are officially my hero. Way to go. (And does she have a sister in South Carolina, by any chance?)

  6. 6 cusp November 15, 2009 at 7:35 pm

    How much for her to come over to Suffolk once a week ? ;0)

    Great stuff and to have someone you know and can trus. Must be a real weight of your mind.


Leave a Reply

Fundraising


Push It 11 Sep 2011

for ME Research

CFS Links & Resources

See my entire list of CFS/ME/CFIDS links to sites, articles and resources via del.io.us
http://del.icio.us/rachelcreative/M.E.
New stuff is added all the time.

