Update on IBS Taming Phase 2

Ouch. The gradual introduction of non soluble fibre into my diet using fruit smoothies has not gone smoothly.  Ow ow ouch.  I didn’t get a lot of sleep last night and there’s residual spasming this morning. Ouch.

Maybe it needs to be even more gradual an introduction? Tiny teeny amounts of insoluble fibre. Or maybe my bowels just are not ready. Sigh. I’ll need another few days to a week of the plain phase 1 foods to get me stable again before I can have another attempt.

8 Responses to “Update on IBS Taming Phase 2”


  1. 1 ashysheela September 23, 2009 at 9:49 am

    oh dear, sorry to hear that, maybe it is the quantity as you say. I hope that reintroducing it gradually will build tolerance, though i have not really tried it much. I do eat quite a wide variety of cooked veg now, maybe start there rather than raw fruits… (Cooked smoothie?!!) maybe pectin is particularly a trigger for you? (i think it is for me, though i am planning a cox’s apple next week, maybe in two halves – ooh i love them!). I find skinless pears and avocados fine, but they may not taste good together as a smoothie 😉

    The wiating for days between experiments for things to calm down is a pain in the proverbial isn’t it? I just want to try everything now! But results are confusing enough on a calm system… oh what hell is this? I hope phase 3 is better for you…

    • 2 rachelcreative September 23, 2009 at 11:54 am

      Pears, apples and avacados are full of soluble fibre which is good. But not of use for introducing insoluble fibre. But it does give more food for the soluble plan!

      I’ve been having a tiny amount of courgette with my evening meal (one of gods most fiborous veggies apparently!) so maybe I should try andf increase that way. Like you say cooked (and perhaps blended) veggies first.

      Thanks. I haven’t conquered Phase 2 yet though! I’m back at phase 1.

      • 3 ashysheela September 23, 2009 at 1:19 pm

        yes i did wonder as i wrote “phase 3” how the phases were being defined… 😉

        • 4 rachelcreative September 23, 2009 at 10:21 pm

          In my world …

          Phase 1 – eating from the What To Eat When You Can’t Eat Anything list and other foods rich in soluble fibre and stabilising symptoms

          Phase 2 – adding small amounts of insoluble fibre with blended fruits/veggies

          Phase 3 – adding a bit of other foods

          Phase 4 – “normal” eating ie. cautious for ME and IBS but not super restrictive. Like I was before this flare up of IBS.

          Huh. Sounds simple enough. Come on bowels!

  2. 5 cusp September 23, 2009 at 11:27 am

    Try poached or stewed and whizzed pears ? Pears are supposed one of the least allergenic fruits and maybe stir it into some yogurt teaspooon at a time ?

    • 6 rachelcreative September 23, 2009 at 11:55 am

      Thanks cusp. Pears are on the soluble fibre list providing you eat the flesh not the skins. So they are ok anyway. I’m not tolerating a lot of dairy at the moment. ME has made my system so peculiar!

  3. 7 Jozephine September 23, 2009 at 2:53 pm

    I’d skip the dairy altogether. Gives me low down belly ache and terrible wind. Many chronically ill folks are dairy intolerant as well as wheat. Interestingly candida also likes dairy to feed on. Is there a link between IBS and Candida? Anyone know?

    I feel for you. Keep trying.

    • 8 rachelcreative September 23, 2009 at 10:23 pm

      Thanks Jozephine. I’ve not done well with a lot of dairy since ME. In fact I think over-indulging on dairy might have been a factor in triggering this horrid flare up. That’s if I can apply any kind of rational logic to these peaks and troughs of ME associated symptoms.


Leave a Reply

Fundraising


Push It 11 Sep 2011

for ME Research

CFS Links & Resources

See my entire list of CFS/ME/CFIDS links to sites, articles and resources via del.io.us
http://del.icio.us/rachelcreative/M.E.
New stuff is added all the time.

