The Only Sunflower

My mom helped me plant sunflower seeds in the garden back in early July.  Although a few sprouted only one made it to be a big strong giant sunflower.  Yesterday it opened into full bloom.

Even though I planted hafl a dozen sunflower seeds and my mom did the rest I remember how exhausted I felt afterwards.  I had to ask her to fetch me a glass of water as I couldn’t make it to the house myself even though I was the host.  Something about this bright golden flower makes all that seem insignificant.  I grew this.

The one and only sunflower to grow and bloom in my garden this year. Sep 2009.

the only sunflower

Close up with bees.

sunflower bees
See this super large

5 Responses to “The Only Sunflower”


  1. 1 ninacolors September 21, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    Beautiful! Lucky bees that you went to the trouble:-) I love seeing bees up close w their pollen sacs full ………

  2. 2 ashysheela September 21, 2009 at 7:14 pm

    well it is a beauty – those petals are so big and glossy – and the central parts so neatly arranged in spirals/curves (i don’t know how to explain that with my mush brain this evening). no sunshine here today so i am feeling the benefit of seeing this burst of sun today, thanks 🙂

  3. 4 Sue September 21, 2009 at 11:44 pm

    It’s beautiful! I always love sunflowers – they’re just so cheery, aren’t they? A symbol of sunshine and happiness!

    Sue

  4. 5 rachelcreative September 22, 2009 at 6:52 pm

    It has cheered me up loads!


Leave a Reply

Fundraising


Push It 11 Sep 2011

for ME Research

CFS Links & Resources

See my entire list of CFS/ME/CFIDS links to sites, articles and resources via del.io.us
http://del.icio.us/rachelcreative/M.E.
New stuff is added all the time.

