Mental Rental

Well I’m considerably less stressed and anxious than I was at the beginning of this week. 

But I am facing the prospect of having to move house.  A lower rent would be great but mainly a house with lower fuel bills would be a tremendous help in making ends meet. 

down the garden path
Our current rental house is large which means we have loads of space which is great.  But it does mean it’s difficult to heat.  Particularly as it has lots of windows (in desperate need of repair with a landlord too cheap to get the work done), most of the house has external walls (not insulated) and it’s old/drafty.  So a cosy house would be good.

Lots of space also means lots of places to pile up clutter.  We’ve lived in this house for 6 years.  We’ve accumulated a lot of stuff in that time.  Plus I’ve been ill for around 4 years and not been able to do my periodic whirlwind attacks on piles of stuff.  So there’s a lot of sorting, organising, clearing out, ebaying (and car booting) to be done.  Not to mention cleaning all those dark corners that lie forgotten about.

20080311_ttv_clutter

We’ve had lots of offers of help and words of encouragement.  My mum has been brilliant.  My brother and girlfriend, who ahve just this month moved themselves, have offered hands on help with the de-clutter, packing and moving.  Which is a huge relief.  Looks like we’ll be doing a self pack and move so we can do it on a budget.  And I can’t do much of anything myself.  Very frustrating.  I have new lessons to learn in accepting help and swallowing pride while I point at dusty grotty things to be cleaned by someone else.

We’re also going to be on a frugal, careful budget from now on.  A few more sacrifices to be made.  But we’re not on the poverty line just yet.  We just have to be very careful. Luckily laughter and love are both free.

In other news tomorrow I go to one of my best friend’s wedding bash and we’ll be staying overnight at the hotel.  I did ring earlier in the week to see if I could cancel the room and save some money but there was no refund on offer.  So we’ll be making the absolute most of this little slice of luxury.

7 Responses to “Mental Rental”


  1. 1 ninacolors September 18, 2009 at 9:31 pm

    Oh, this is going to be a tough one — but you can do it. All that help is pricelss, and a non-drafty house will be wonderful. Let us know your new address when you have it:-)

  2. 2 cusp September 19, 2009 at 7:48 am

    OooooooH ! Moving….but as you say there’ll be lots of help and once it’s done its done and you can settle into a smaller cosier nest where you won’t have the same money worries ;o)

    It was probably meant to be that you couldn’t cancel the room: you need a good old ‘jolly’ to forget the recent challenges and move on to better times. Hope you feel well enough to enjoy it and it all goes well.

  3. 3 ashysheela September 19, 2009 at 9:01 am

    enjoy yourselves today!

  4. 4 Jozephine September 19, 2009 at 10:19 am

    I’ve just been through this process too. It’s a biggy. Nina and I both survived so I’m sure you will too. Make lists, lots of lists.

    Have you found a new home yet? I think it’s quite a good time to rent isn’t it? I know I got a good deal.

    Take care 🙂

  5. 5 Rachel M September 20, 2009 at 6:00 am

    It’s nice to know that you have lots of help and support. 🙂

    When I moved last time, my condition progressed and the damage seems to be irreversible. So, I tend to get nervous when people are moving… I’m sending lots of cyber protection to you.

    They say change is as good as holiday. I hope you and Paul can find a nice cosy new home without any hassle.

    And I hope you will enjoy the weekend. 😉

  6. 6 rachelcreative September 21, 2009 at 7:58 am

    Thanks everyone! We had a lovely weekend. Fab weather, brilliant wedding, great room. Lumpy mattress but you can’t have everything!

    As we don’t have to be out by any date in particular we can take our time looking for the right place. So it may take a while or it may happend very quickly. The sooner the better but don’t want to move to the wrong place if we can help it.

    This week the ad hunting continues and the clutter sifting begins.

  7. 7 ashysheela September 21, 2009 at 9:32 am

    glad you had a good time – good luck with the tasks ahead!


Leave a Reply

Fundraising


Push It 11 Sep 2011

for ME Research

CFS Links & Resources

See my entire list of CFS/ME/CFIDS links to sites, articles and resources via del.io.us
http://del.icio.us/rachelcreative/M.E.
New stuff is added all the time.

