A Great Honour

Today is the civil marriage ceremony of my best friend to a really lovely guy. It will be an intimate ceremony – just them, her parents, us and 2 other friends.  Growler and I have been asked to be witnesses.  I am so honoured to be asked and so excited for her.  She’s happy and about to be wed.

In a few days they will be off to Canada to see the groom’s family and celebrate with them and then the proper wedding is in September when they will be having a handfasting ceremony surrounded by friends and family.

When I sometimes feel I have so little to offer because of my ME/CFS limitations it’s extra special that our friendship endures and thrives.  And that part of what strengthened it happened since I got ill.  That listening, talking and caring is much valued.  That despite the changes in my our lives we still connect.

One of the readings at today’s ceremony is taken from a book of poetry I bought her 3 years ago to try and help with the nasty break up with her ex-boyfriend, not long after my own wedding and them talking about getting engaged.  Three years later she’s marrying a wonderful bloke who loves her and brings out the best in her and her him.

It’s a great honour to be asked to the ceremony.  Especially to have the honour of being a legal witness.  But the best part if seeing this new and happy chapter in her life unfold.

5 Responses to “A Great Honour”


  1. 1 Rachel M July 25, 2009 at 11:24 am

    I love weddings. It’s such a happy and sacred event.
    And your anniversary is coming up, too. 😉

  2. 2 cusp July 25, 2009 at 3:19 pm

    It’s lovely to see your friends happy — especially after a rocky patch. It’s also lovely when you (as in: someone with M.E) is treated as any other person and your loyalty and friendship is validated by someone else. Bet you were all glowing with with happiness today ;0)

  3. 3 ashysheela July 25, 2009 at 9:11 pm

    I hope you had a great day and so glad you could share it with them and play such an important role. It is great the some friendships can survive and evolve when our lives change.

  4. 4 rachelcreative July 26, 2009 at 7:25 am

    I had a brilliant day. I surprised myself how much I did and how long I chatted for. Every bit of energy was worth it too. Knackered today but so so happy to have been a part of their day.

  5. 5 ashysheela July 26, 2009 at 7:32 am

    glad it was so good – rest happy today 🙂


Leave a Reply

Fundraising


Push It 11 Sep 2011

for ME Research

CFS Links & Resources

See my entire list of CFS/ME/CFIDS links to sites, articles and resources via del.io.us
http://del.icio.us/rachelcreative/M.E.
New stuff is added all the time.

