Crocs Comfortable and Practical

putting your feet upI’ll admit Crocs are not the most attractive shoes but I do find them comfortable and practical.  Last summer I wore my grey Cayman Crocs most days.  When you’re housebound it’s easy and tempting to wear slipper all day long but it’s important to wear shoes from time to time to keep your feet well supported and healthy.

I find Crocs easy to wear.  You can slip them on as easy as slippers using the strap around your heel if you like for more security.  They are wide and give the feet plenty of room whilst offering toes some protection.  They are light weight and very stable (they don’t bend or twist side to side) which is great when mobility is a problem.  You can keep them clean by washing them under the tap and if you’re lucky enough to use them on the beach or the great outdoors they also float.

crocs baya chocolateSo when I had the chance of getting a pair of Crocs Baya from FitnessFootwear I was delighted.  I selected another neutral colour of chocolate, although the shoes are somewhat darker than the official Crocs photos show chocolate to be.

Crocs Baya are similar to the Cayman style but the front part of the shoe is a slightly different shape.  It also has the Crocs logo in relief along the side of the shoe.

crocs baya chocolate 2I found the Baya to be a little more narrow across the mid part of the foot and a snugger fit than the Cayman.  Also the ankle strap when placed on the top of the shoe tends to work it’s way up and doesn’t stay snuggly on the apex of the shoe.

But I do love my Crocs!  After months of wearing slippers the knobbly footbed really feels like it’s massaging the soles of me feet and I feel much better supported.  I can slip them on to flop about the house and kick them off when I want to put my feet up.  The airholes make them cooler than my trainers in hot weather but when it’s very hot my feet do tend to get a little warm.

crocs baya chocolate  4I have been known to wear my Crocs outside of the house although I know opinion is divided on the look of them.  They have good grip and give a wide base but perhaps are not the high end of fashion!  For me though they offer comfort and practicality on many levels.

Crocs Rx have been endorsed by podiatrics and are sanctioned for use in some US hospitals. They can offer great support and benefits to those with arthritis and various foot problems.  They’re only just becoming available to buy in the UK.

crocs baya chocolate  3Crocs aren’t to everyone’s taste I know.  But they do offer me a good alternative for practical, comfortable, easy to use footwear.

6 Responses to “Crocs Comfortable and Practical”


  1. 1 ashysheela May 29, 2009 at 9:01 am

    so nice to get the slipper off isn’t it?! I admit i am still switching between sandals and slippers but it is nice to get some air around those toes! I think in classy chocolate (my favourite footwear colour) crocs are cool!

  2. 2 Jozephine May 29, 2009 at 9:08 am

    Doh! I’ve just realised why I’m having such problems with my feet. I’ve been schlepping around in slippers for months and the ligaments in my heels are tightening up. Thank you, thank you!

    Crocs have been well trendy down here in the SW for several years. In fact they are almost too popular to be trendy any more and i’ve been resisting them. No longer!

    cheers m’dears.

  3. 3 ninacolors May 29, 2009 at 1:11 pm

    Birkenstocks forever! and WITH socks. I care not if anyone disapproves:-)

  4. 4 ashysheela May 30, 2009 at 6:39 pm

    yes i love birkenstocks best – i have been known to wear a sock with it but only in the house!! ;0)

  5. 5 rachelcreative June 3, 2009 at 4:27 pm

    Yes I think I might have to try Birkenstocks myself.

  6. 6 ashysheela June 3, 2009 at 5:48 pm

    the sizes are not standard so go to a shop first and try some on and see which “footbed” is your size – they do regular and narrow as well so worth paying attention to that (most people are regular unless your feet are really narrow). I am usually a 41 but only a 39 on birkenstocks so it is worth doing – then you can order online happily! the website i use is footshopping.com which is not uk but they come quick with no probs and have large range…


Leave a Reply

Fundraising


Push It 11 Sep 2011

for ME Research

CFS Links & Resources

See my entire list of CFS/ME/CFIDS links to sites, articles and resources via del.io.us
http://del.icio.us/rachelcreative/M.E.
New stuff is added all the time.

