What Awareness For ME Means To Me

Raising awareness of ME/CFS is something I try to do all year round. As a person with ME it’s not easy to be an activist; to lobby government, drive campaigns, raise funds or do anything very much in fact.  But I think a slow drip-drip effect can be more effective than you might think.

Thanks to the internet I am able to connect with all sorts of people – both those with ME, chronic health conditions, disabilities and those without. Through my art blog, Twitter, Facebook, Flickr and others I can show aspects of an ordinary life affected by ME.  There is more to me than my illness, which helps creates bonds and common interests, so that when ME is a factor it can be surprising, sometimes shocking, to others but it is another little nugget of awareness.

When I do come into contact with people face to face I talk about lots of things but I am also fairly open about the limits and challenges my illness imposes on my life and that of my family. 

So when the hairdresser, or the guy who came to clear the garden say “ME – that’s where you’re tired all the time?” and I tell them how it can affect sleep, stomach, memory/brain function, give you aches/pains and never give you a day off for years and years.  So maybe when ME is mentioned on the news, or down the pub, and someone says “that’s the thing where you stop in bed all day” they may be able to say “actually did you know …”.  Because they met a friendly, kind soul once who had ME and told them how it was more than just tiredness. That’s my hope.

When my local Twitter friends arrange a social meet up and I explain I’ll be there only if I am well enough they start to see how ME affects everything I do or want to do.  And when I manage to attend but am exhausted and ill the next day they get to hear about it first hand and maybe see that it’s a complex illness and see how it really impacts on a life.

ME and CFShey find out I’m honest, friendly, happy, enthusiastic and kind.  Not some mental case who has imagined an illness.  They get to see how much I want to live a full active life and how ME makes that so impossible.  And they find this out by getting to know me as a person, who happens to have ME.

I’ve heard so many times from family members that when they have told friends or acquaintances that I have ME so many reveal they know someone with ME too.  And in talking about it they spread a little awareness and don’t feel so alone.  Maybe that person will look at their ME acquintance in a different light after finding out more from my folks.  Maybe.

I choose a couple of ME organisations to support and to direct people towards.  For me it is ME Research UK and the ME Association both here in the UK.  I try to keep it simple.  When I can, I do more.  I started the ME Aware blog this year to help inspire other people like me who felt a bit lost with ME Awareness Day/Week/Month and felt helpless to know what one person can do to make a difference. 

Small things add up.  Single voices can form a noisy crowd.

ripples moonbird flickr

image by moonbird on flickr

OK so maybe my little day to day efforts are not full on driven attempts for getting more funding for biomedical research, or getting clinical guidelines changed to be effective and fair, or making the benefits system fairer for those with ME and fluctuating conditions, or getting the media to stop saying “Yuppie Flu”. 

But it is a drip drip drip of awareness.  And one drop makes a ripple that can reach far and wide.

6 Responses to “What Awareness For ME Means To Me”


  1. 1 ashysheela May 12, 2009 at 4:13 pm

    i hope (and believe) so!

  2. 2 Renee May 12, 2009 at 8:18 pm

    I really like your drip drip drip thinking here. We all do what we can and it does add up slowly and steadily.

    Renee

  3. 3 Sue May 12, 2009 at 11:11 pm

    I take a very similar approach to daily awareness sharing – always trying to explain my limits to the people I encounter (in a kind and gentle way). I agree that this is a great way to educate those around us. Every bit helps!

    Sue

  4. 4 Christina May 12, 2009 at 11:44 pm

    I like to think about the power of homeopathy when I get down about how little I feel like I am able to do. The smaller the action (dose) the more powerful it is. I also like the image of the pebble dropped in a pond -tiny action with wide ramifications…

    Thanks for your work!
    Christina

  5. 5 cusp May 14, 2009 at 12:01 pm

    …and you do a fine job ;0)


  1. 1 Taking Part « ME/CFS Awareness Trackback on May 12, 2009 at 10:59 am

Leave a Reply

Fundraising


Push It 11 Sep 2011

for ME Research

CFS Links & Resources

See my entire list of CFS/ME/CFIDS links to sites, articles and resources via del.io.us
http://del.icio.us/rachelcreative/M.E.
New stuff is added all the time.

