Back on D-Ribose – It’s Worth It For Me

After a 2 week break from D-Ribose I was feeling really grotty, run down and utterly exhausted.  It was only a few percent on the ability scale but it made a huge difference.

The only way for me to be sure that stopping taking D-Ribose had made that difference would be once I started to take it again if things improved.  They did.

I started back on D-Ribose 6 days ago.  I took a 3 times daily dose for the first 3 days to have a little kickstart but went back to my usual 2 after that as I’m a little low on supplies and cash.

Within 2 days I was back to just about the level I was before I stopped the D-Ribose.  Even with my period (which leaves me in a sort of slow motion with heavy limbs) I felt better.

image by babydinosaur on flickr

image by babydinosaur on flickr

As for tummy symptoms I experience the, THE worst constipation ever whilst being off D-Ribose.  So maybe in fact it does make things a bit loose but that actually balances things out for me.  Aside from that episode (caused I think by frequenting the wheat biscuits combined with 2 days of co-codamol and starting my period which seems to trigger IBS symptoms) there wasn’t much noticeable difference in tummy symptoms whilst I was off D-Ribose.

So for me personally it’s worth taking D-Ribose.  I hadn’t been anticipating quite the drop in ability level that I experienced and it took me by surprise.  But it did prove to me that I am getting a benefit from it – even if it’s so small a healthy person wouldn’t notice it.  It makes a big difference to me though.

11 Responses to “Back on D-Ribose – It’s Worth It For Me”


  1. 1 Barbara K. April 26, 2009 at 2:37 pm

    good on you for experimenting and learning. I continually adjust my meds to see if I can take a lower dose or can drop one of them.

  2. 2 Hege April 27, 2009 at 10:09 pm

    Just wanted to say that I really like your blog, and will follow it from now on.

    http://www.tiredofME.com

  3. 3 Sherrie Sisk April 28, 2009 at 12:37 am

    I totally agree with the medication/supplementation experimentation. It sometimes takes a lot of trial and error, and different combinations, and different dosages. And it almost never is just one thing, which makes it even more insane.

  4. 4 Sue April 28, 2009 at 10:58 pm

    Thanks for the update on D-ribose. I will definitely try it once I get back to my CFS baseline from the Lyme treatment. I’m worried about the stomach problems, but it seems worth a try at least. Thanks for sharing your experiences!

    Sue

  5. 5 Toni May 3, 2009 at 3:14 pm

    Hello,

    I just discovered your blog through another CFS blog. I really enjoy your writing and how carefully you explain things and how you so thoroughly do your research. I have pretty severe CFS, meaning I’m housebound and mostly bedbound. I’ve been this way for eight years since contracting a viral infection that I thought was just an acute illness. I’m not in pain but sleep is not restorative, I’m in a constant state of flu-like malaise. Mostly, I have this bone-crushing fatigue that keeps me from straying far from my bed because every 3-4 hours, my body just collapses and I have to lie down and try to nap. Whether I’m able to nap or not, to be functional at all, I have to stay down with no TV, etc. from noon-2 p.m. and 6-8 and again from 9-10. Then I go to sleep at 11.

    I just wanted to thank you for your blog and to give some feedback on D-Ribose. It seems to definitely help some people, as do similar energy boosters. But whenever I take this type of medication (be it a supplement or a prescription, like Provigil or anti-depressants that, in a low dose, are supposed to provide an energy boost), I get a kind of wired fatigue that’s just impossible to live with. So, these supplements just don’t work for me.

    I’m glad you experimented and found D-Ribose is of value to you though!

    My best,
    Toni

    • 6 Jenny June 8, 2009 at 3:12 pm

      Hi Tony,

      So very sorry to hear you are so bad. I have had ME for 4 years now following a virus and my disability levels have been really up and down from managable to housebound for two years and I am now going back up to more manageable.

      Have you tried any of the following?

      [portion deleted by blog author]

      http://www.theperrinclinic.com/ – I have been using this technique for nearly 8 months and it has been great. If you have been down for so long you will have picked up an awful lot of other health problems that will be adding to your overall disability. This is quite a holistic process which can balance out other problems. I can recommend Handstohealth in Bishop Stortford – don’t know where you are.
      https://secure.endfatigue.com/store/products/supplements/
      I have been on the Adrenal Stress End for a couple of months and it has really helped!! There is also a decent sleep remedy that has helped and I have really really bad insomnia.
      I hope some of this helps.

  6. 8 Jenny June 12, 2009 at 5:40 pm

    Hey Rachel,
    I see which bit you have removed and it doesn’t offend me but I would be interested to know why as I haven’t tried it myself and have heard mixed reports but the science seems sound, even if I don’t like the idea of a 3 day ‘miracle cure’ . Not sure how you would let me know without mentioning it. But I read an article recently about a lady in a very similar position to Tony and it really helped her.

    Thanks

    • 9 rachelcreative June 15, 2009 at 2:01 pm

      There have been no clinical studies. The premise the treatment is based on has not been scientifically proven. It is expensive.

      There are anecdotal reports of it’s success and they are very savvy at attracting media attention. That’s doesn’t mean it’s a good, reliable or safe treatment.

      Here’s a balanced article from the Action for ME which I would recommend you read:

      AFME Article

      Here’s what ME Association have to say about it:

      ME Association alternative treatments

      This letter from ME Free For All in response to a newspaper article which says some sensible things:

      ME Free So All letter

      An interesting article here about it which explains a little more of the theory behind it which is informative:

      CBS News article

      I’m not naming it because I don’t want search results to bring people looking for it to my blog .

  7. 10 Sahiba (Ms.F) June 29, 2009 at 9:15 pm

    Hi Rachel,

    this is the 1st time I’ve been to your blog. Just want to say thanks for all the great information. I’ve just started on D-Ribose and found your posts on it extremely helpful.

    Cheers!
    Sahiba

    P.S. – I’ve had CFS/ME for the past 7 yr


  1. 1 IBS, POTS and general update… « Ashy’s Blog Trackback on April 28, 2009 at 11:34 am

Leave a Reply

Fundraising


Push It 11 Sep 2011

for ME Research

CFS Links & Resources

See my entire list of CFS/ME/CFIDS links to sites, articles and resources via del.io.us
http://del.icio.us/rachelcreative/M.E.
New stuff is added all the time.

