Probiotics, Prescription Experiment and Mobile Hairdresser

Neither a restrictive diet or medication has been saving me from my guts these past few weeks.  The flare has been particularly bad on some days – cramping, bubbling, gas and pain.  I thought I’d try a new tactic and see if probiotics could help – maybe I had some kind of inbalance or infection.

After just a few days I can say it’s not perfect but it’s suddenly a hell of a lot better.  I actually had 2 days gut pain free which is a massive relief after struggling with it for a while now.

Also a friend who also takes amitriptyline for ME pain relief suggested taking my nightly dose earlier in the evening.  That the optimum time to take the tablets is 13 hours before you want to wake up.  Maybe this might help me to sleep – something else I’ve been struggling with these past few weeks.  Often not getting off to sleep until 12-2am despite being in bed at 10.30 as usual.

So this weekend I started taking my 20mg of Amitriptyline at 8pm instead of just as I get into bed.  So far it’s not adjusting how long I sleep for but I’m not worried about that.  I seem to have needed 10-12 hours of sleep this I got ME. 

It’s also not necessarily getting me off to sleep any quicker.  But a few adjustments like reading (or luxury being read to) are helping.

What it has been helping with is when I do wake up I’m not feeling groggy and foggy and heavy like I used to.  I feel much lighter and brighter.  Which in turn means I am feeling like getting out of bed earlier and able to think better and maybe do more.

I thought that groggy feeling was me with ME in the mornings.  Seems maybe most of it was amitriptyline hanging around.

Finally the mobile hairdresser I approached emailed me back and she’s coming the day after tomorrow.  I am very glad that I will soon have a hairstyle again.  But I’m not quite sure what style I want her to aim for.  So I have to get some ideas if I want to avoid being disappointed with the cut.  I’m sure she’s very competent but not a mind reader. 

Oh and it’s sunny out today.  Which is an added bonus.  I’m also really excited about getting on my new painting as it’s coming together well now (fingers crossed).  It’s lovely to have good news.

12 Responses to “Probiotics, Prescription Experiment and Mobile Hairdresser”


  1. 1 ashysheela March 2, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    hmm, interesting that the probiotic seemed to work a bit there. That is good. let me know if the benefit seems to continue – my IBS has been getting gradually worse and worse. It has been very bad last couple of weeks, painful and windy (hideous smell which gets me down…) more than other obvious problems but i am getting very sick of it… I eat live yogurts every day but maybe i should try actual probiotics too…

    Good luck with the hairdresser! Really hope it looks good and she is not too draining in personality 😉

  2. 2 Jozephine March 3, 2009 at 9:43 am

    Poor you, restless guts are so debilitating. I may be teaching my Grandmother to suck eggs here, but have you thought about Candida as a culprit? If it is Candida, the probiotics will help but you’ll also need an antifungal tablet which you can buy from the pharmacist or get from your Doc. I’ve just been going through the same thing myself after a course of antibiotics. Sue Jackson (Learning to Live with CFS) put me onto it, what a star!

    I’ve had similar problems to you with the amitryptiline. In fact I was half an hour late taking them last night and I have the ‘hangover’. My CFS effects how quickly they work. When I’m bad they can take four hours to kick in. When I’m good it can be an hour. If I take them too early I seem to lose the sleep window and am still awake two hours after going to bed. So very much sympathy for you there.

    Hope we get a photo of the new hair if you are pleased with it.

    All the best, Jo.

  3. 3 Renee March 4, 2009 at 9:24 pm

    So glad things are looking up for you with sleep issues…they aer the worst! And someone to cut your hair….it always feels good to have a new haircut. Hope the gut issue improves soon.

  4. 4 ashysheela March 5, 2009 at 10:51 am

    how’s the hair do?

  5. 5 rachelcreative March 5, 2009 at 7:11 pm

    😐

    Growler says it’s great. I’m not convinced. I feel ridiculously glum about it.

  6. 6 ashysheela March 5, 2009 at 10:44 pm

    oh NO! i hope you bond with it after the next wash, i sometimes do after not being sure… sounds like you are sure though 😦 how disappointing after all the trouble of finding the woman as well. I hope whatever you did after was good and worth a little crashing x

  7. 7 ashysheela March 6, 2009 at 10:33 am

    sorry for any confusion about “what you did after”, you may not have done anything – it was the other rachel… it said on facebook “rachel had haircut and did other things after” so i assumed it was you as i knew you were getting yours done… why you both go get haircuts at the same time? to confuse me? It’s easy to do 😉 ahh well…

  8. 8 rachelcreative March 6, 2009 at 11:34 am

    Oooh that’s a strange co-incidence.

    I like it 5% of the time. Maybe I will “grow” to like it! I just keeping thinking of what a friend told me “it’s already growing”.

    I was too grumpy and tired from all the stressing to do anything afterwards ;o)

  9. 9 rachelcreative March 6, 2009 at 11:38 am

    Jozephine – By co-incidence I did take an anti-fungal tablet last week just as I started my probiotics. So maybe there’s something in that. I thought you needed to take a course of antifungals for candida. I think it’s one of those conditions that GP’s don’t seem to generally buy into.

    I can’t believe how different I feel in the mornings having moved the time I take my amitriptyline. It’s a revelation. I have gained 2 hours a day of my life back!

  10. 10 ashysheela March 6, 2009 at 3:16 pm

    three cheers for each hour you got back! Hurray hurray hurray!!! hurray hurray hurray!!!

  11. 11 rachelcreative March 6, 2009 at 6:10 pm

    🙂 Thanks Ashy. I was worrying how to fill them! But you’re right of course.

    Meanwhile I am now at 35-40% liking my haircut!

    A photo here
    http://rachelcreative.wordpress.com/2009/03/06/hair-chop-self-photography/

  12. 12 Sue March 12, 2009 at 8:10 am

    I have a friend who was a hairdresser before she became ill, and she cuts my hair. We found the best style is a ‘wash and go’ one that would look ok drying naturally. I rarely have the strength to blow dry it.

    With us both being ill, its not easy to find a time when we are both sufficiently ok to do the hair. I don’t go to a hairdressing salon because I’ve never found one that doesn’t have loud music playing. The noise, smells of chemicals and the hassle of getting there don’t do me any good.

    Most major hospitals and hospices have part time hairdressers, so it might be worth talking to one of them about home visits. The other place to look (don’t kill me!) is Age Concern. They also use mobile hairdressers. It would be great to find the right person for you.


Leave a Reply

Fundraising


Push It 11 Sep 2011

for ME Research

CFS Links & Resources

See my entire list of CFS/ME/CFIDS links to sites, articles and resources via del.io.us
http://del.icio.us/rachelcreative/M.E.
New stuff is added all the time.

