Snowman and Teddy

teddy xmas decoration

Since having M.E. I’ve found the run up to Christmas really tiring.  I plan ahead and try to pace extra activities like writing cards, wrapping presents and seeing family but it still takes a lot out of me.  January has been a bad time health wise over the last couple of years since my ME has been very bad.

But I do enjoy christmas and the festive season and here’s hoping this January is different.

I wanted to show you this teddy decoration from my mom’s christmas tree.  I remember this and the snowman ornament (amongst others) going on the tree every christmas and as a child looked forward to seeing them every year.

snowman xmas decoration

The snowman decoration was always my favourite right behind the teddy decoration. 

You can see his gloves, nose and buttons have become a little worn over time.  Must be all those years of service hanging on the tree.  But he’s still smiling and skating (dancing?) with glee.

My mom hasn’t had a christmas tree the last few years but this year bought a mini tree.  So I got to see some old familiar decorations.  It reminds me of the magic and happiness I associate with christmas. I still maintain that one Christmas Morning I heard the sleigh bells of Father Christmas on his way home.

3 Responses to “Snowman and Teddy”


  1. 1 shelli December 22, 2008 at 7:38 pm

    I think I need to focus more on the simple things that bring back the Christmas spirit — this Christmas has been horribly exhausting so far! Thanks for the reminder — and Merry Christmas!

  2. 2 rachelcreative December 24, 2008 at 6:10 pm

    Merry Christmas to you too Shelli. Focusing on the simple things certainly helps me.

    As does learning that NOT doing something, or saying no to an invite doesn’t mean you’re useless or mean. Chronic illness doesn’t stop just because it’s a special occasion. So boring old planning, pacing and being very choosey about what I do/attend/etc makes the stuff I do get to do much more enjoyable for everyone. Plus getting good support where you can helps a lot!

    Hoping you get to have some rest and peace.

  3. 3 imnotbenny December 26, 2008 at 3:02 am

    My Mom’s tree is pretty much all stuff that she has gathered from myself and my three sisters over the years. I love looking at all of it and every year it grows because of my neices and nephews. Of course, all of my stuff is the best, but that’s not their fault.

    Merry Christmas 🙂


Leave a Reply

Fundraising


Push It 11 Sep 2011

for ME Research

CFS Links & Resources

See my entire list of CFS/ME/CFIDS links to sites, articles and resources via del.io.us
http://del.icio.us/rachelcreative/M.E.
New stuff is added all the time.

