Why I Like Twitter

twitter - photo by trekkyandy

photo by trekkyandy

I could never see the point of Twitter and resisted signing up.  Now somedays I find that although I haven’t emailed, or written on anyone’s Facebook wall, or read posts and lefts comments on blogs – I have “tweeted” through the day.

What appeals about it is:

a) Each “tweet” (post) or response/reply is limited to 140 characters.

It’s almost a cross between mini blogging, status updates (like on Facebook or MySpace) and a place to chat which can be in real time or like a forum, when you’re ready to respond.

b) There’s usually one or two of my contacts around at any one time so I can get *almost* real time interaction. 

A real person somewhere responding to my questions, ponderings and ideas. 

My contacts are a mix of people artists, crafters, media types, moms, chronically ill folks and much more including Brits, Americans, Irish, Canadians and Europeans.

And *conversation* is limited to these 140 character snippets – which seems to fit with my ME brain pretty well.

 

twhirl - photo by 37hz

photo by 37hz

Now I have to use a client on my PC to make life a bit easier.  It alerts me when new tweets come through and if my computers been off it only gets the 20 or so most recent ones.  It always brings me replies and direct (private) messages and any tweet that mentions me by name (username that is). And the client on my computer makes easy for me to send replies, check people out, search for things and so on.  I use twhirl but there are loads about.

What is not so good is that the more people you get to know the more tweets there are to keep up with and read.  Often I have to scan read and a lot of the time if there’s loads I only look at my favourite folks as I scroll through them.

But where I am alone for the largest part of my waking day and limited in what I’m able to do (thanks ME) it’s proving a good thing to be using.  Maybe it’s seems a bit superficial to have 140 character contact with people (most of whom) I’ve never met – but like blogging, social networks like Facebook, internet shopping and banking, it really helps to keep me in touch with the world outside these 4 walls of the house.

You can find me on twitter under my rachelcreative username.

4 Responses to “Why I Like Twitter”


  1. 1 Connie November 27, 2008 at 6:24 am

    Rachel, I am having a huge problem with Twitter. At first I didn’t understand it at all. I wondered why people typed about what they were eating or when they had to go to pick up their children from school. I thought, who cares?

    Now I do, too much. I am addicted! If I can’t get on Twitter I get all twitchy….@ConnieFoggles 🙂

  2. 2 rachelcreative December 3, 2008 at 11:57 am

    It certainly makes a lot more sense once you’ve got into the swing of things! You just have to keep some balance and not let it control you – but use it as another tool I think.

  3. 3 Barbara K. December 4, 2008 at 5:26 pm

    I haven’t taken the twitter plunge yet. I had always thought it would just be more noise – but your description of the connectedness it brings does make it a tiny bit more appealing.

  4. 4 rachelcreative December 4, 2008 at 9:24 pm

    Today gave me a good example of that Barbara. I sent out a “tweet” (a mini update) to say I was shopping around for best prices of D-Ribose and my current supplier is still the best (UK) deal I can find.

    Then I had a little conversation with one of my twitter contacts about D-Ribose – so I got to tell her about my supplier and the postage to her country and about my experience with it. Out of that she also gave me some advice about L-Carnitine and was able to answer a (silly) question I had about Acetyl-L-Carnitine.

    So I know that sounds kind of dull (!!) but it was really useful. And I wouldn’t have had that contact with her otherwise.

    BUT it can be a bit overwhelming on days when you need quiet! You always have the choice to not engage with it that day though. And you kind of accept that sometimes you might miss things and sometimes other people might miss something you said. If it’s important you can repeat yourself though :o) And you can keep your list of contacts as small as you like to keep it manageable if you like.


Leave a Reply

Fundraising


Push It 11 Sep 2011

for ME Research

CFS Links & Resources

See my entire list of CFS/ME/CFIDS links to sites, articles and resources via del.io.us
http://del.icio.us/rachelcreative/M.E.
New stuff is added all the time.

