One Foot in Front Of The Other and Sometimes In Mouth

When you’re exhausted, when you’re pain levels are on the up, it’s easy to be distracted.  Life keeps on going and if you stopped doing things whilst you felt tired or in pain you’d never do anything.  There’s never a time when it stops.  Throw into the mix a brain that plays tricks on you – that splutters and falters without a warning. 

You put one foot in front of the other.  You keep living.  But sometimes that exhaustion, that pain, that pre-occupation with migraine or stomach cramps or trying not to fall over, combined with a stuttering brain means that foot can slip into mouth.

I notice that when I try to avoid just reacting, try to censor what I say or do in case foot slips into mouth, I adpot a vacant stare.  A question asked is met with an intake of breath and a vacant stare as I think “now … think about this …”.  Except those few seconds lead to forgetting every thought I ever had.

Foot in mouth seems, on the whole, to work out better.  Even if I cringe for days (if not weeks) when I say something blunt or inappropriate.

I am assured by those who are naturally blunt, that my own bluntness should be nothing of concern to me.  But it’s hard to hear these things slip from my mouth when I have always been so measured, always censor my thoughts.

If you ask me a difficult question, a direct question, would an immediate but sometimes blunt response be better than a vacant stare and possibly saying nothing at all?

5 Responses to “One Foot in Front Of The Other and Sometimes In Mouth”


  1. 1 Nina October 28, 2008 at 4:16 pm

    I thought I was a horribly blunt person all my life; I am just now discovering how much I haven’t said that I should!! DEFINITELY foot in mouth is much healthier for us, IMHO, but you have to be willing to live w the consequences. These include people not thinking you’re a “nice” girl any more, friends deciding they no longer want to be friends, etc.

    Go ahead, tell me how stupid I am!! 🙂

  2. 2 rachelcreative October 28, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    Ah now you’re not stupid!

    Yes see I think it’s the idea of the consequences that troubles me.

  3. 3 ashysheela October 28, 2008 at 8:12 pm

    good friends will understand as you backtrack later!

    I find the responses to the vacant stare and pause just as interesting… people are not used to giving people thinking time are they? I do it most in official situations and often have to assert myself when they start answering for me or assuming i have nothing to say… so annoying.

  4. 4 rachelcreative October 28, 2008 at 8:35 pm

    Ah yes – thinking time. No there’s not much of that allowed it seems. If I could remember to do a long “ummmmmmmm” with the vacant stare that might signal thinking to the other person – but would surely make me forget the question instantly!

  5. 5 ashysheela October 29, 2008 at 11:43 am

    i know! exactly…


Leave a Reply

Fundraising


Push It 11 Sep 2011

for ME Research

CFS Links & Resources

See my entire list of CFS/ME/CFIDS links to sites, articles and resources via del.io.us
http://del.icio.us/rachelcreative/M.E.
New stuff is added all the time.

