Dreaming of ME

I’m starting to dream about having ME/CFS. I don’t remember it featuring much previously.  But now it is.

Last night I was in a familiar scenario walking down a street from my childhood trying to get to a safe place (places seem to represent certain feelings, fears and thoughts for me).  But I was getting more exhausted with every step I took and I was with a family member who had no concept of my illness and it’s effects.  I was practically crawling.  I was so exhausted I couldn’t think or see straight.

A few night ago I had brain fog in a dream.  I mixed my words up in a dream – just like I do in life.  I was so stunned I woke up still trying to grasp the word I had really meant. Someone in my dream was telling me a meal was condiment instead of complimentary.

And over the last few weeks I’ve had more dreams of exhaustion and confusion.  I ever dreamt I’d had my legs removed in one.

I remember reading someone else blogging about disability and illness invading their dreams.  I thought it was a fairly natural thing to happen, for your mind to try and work things out during sleep and this included illness and disability. Now it’s happening to me I admit I feel a bit cheated. At least in my dreams I was free – I was healthy and active and free.  I’m glad my brain is working things out – but I wish it could do by letting me run around and be happy!

2 Responses to “Dreaming of ME”


  1. 1 Nina October 8, 2008 at 12:54 pm

    Don’t feel cheated. I’vebeen having the same dreams on and off for many years. I think it’s my body’s way of telling me I’m overdoing it. Do I listen? ha, ha, ha. But you might want to if you can:-)

  2. 2 Rachel M October 13, 2008 at 2:03 pm

    The most horrible dream(s) I had (as far as I can remember) was I could not pick up a baby because my arms don’t have strength. Or I dropped a baby when I attempt, or while I’m holding coz my arms lose strength as if power switch was turned off…


Leave a Reply

Fundraising


Push It 11 Sep 2011

for ME Research

CFS Links & Resources

See my entire list of CFS/ME/CFIDS links to sites, articles and resources via del.io.us
http://del.icio.us/rachelcreative/M.E.
New stuff is added all the time.

