Dental Sedation and Wisdom Teeth Are Go, Go, Go!

I saw my dental surgeon today to discuss the extraction of my remaining two (top) wisdom teeth.  I blogged all about dental sedation and how it will not present significant complications with my ME/CFS.

Today he confirmed that my amitriptyline doesn’t contra-indicate with the sedation so we are all set to go!  I’m booked in to have the teeth extracted in a few weeks. Gulp!

The dental surgeon also assured me that this time things be a lot easier than when I had my bottom wisdom teeth out last year (one of which proved to be complicated – gory details available to anyone who wants them).  These remaining teeth are already pointing in the direction that they need to come out (yeah to teeth growing outwards!).

So hopefully the impact on my health CFS/ME wise will be minimised.  It’s an early start (for me) as the surgery is around 45 minutes away but the whole day should be a blur thanks to the sedative ;o)

So feeling re-assured and ready to get these damn teeth out!  But maybe just a teeny bit nervous – but you have to expect that from someone who needs an IV sedative I suppose.

2 Responses to “Dental Sedation and Wisdom Teeth Are Go, Go, Go!”


  1. 1 ashysheela October 6, 2008 at 8:53 pm

    Ooh, well it’s good that they have been willing to talk it all through with you. i hope it all goes well and you feel fine very soon afterwards 🙂

  2. 2 1Cat2Many November 15, 2008 at 2:43 pm

    I had 2 root canals in the last month. The second time around the local anesthetic just nailed me. My heart started racing after the injection, I was dizzy when I finally got out of the chair. But then I was really tired the rest of the day.

    I figured the heart racing would aggravate my CFS and it did. One day this summer I was lying in bed wondering how my heart still had the energy to beat and wondering what exactly CFS was doing to my body to make it so tired. I came to the conclusion something had affected my mitochondria, hence my muscles, and my heart is after all a muscle. Plus sometimes I feel too tired to breathe, and that’s all muscle work too.

    It’s so upsetting to have this disease and I wish I knew how to get rid of it.


Leave a Reply

Fundraising


Push It 11 Sep 2011

for ME Research

CFS Links & Resources

See my entire list of CFS/ME/CFIDS links to sites, articles and resources via del.io.us
http://del.icio.us/rachelcreative/M.E.
New stuff is added all the time.

