D-Ribose – Week 14

Time for an update on how the D-Ribose plan is going. 

I’ve been taking D-Ribose for 14 weeks, along with 200mg of Q10 and around 500mg of L-Carnitine. I started on 3 x 10g a day for the first 4 weeks and ever since 2 x 10mg.

I take the first D-Ribose dose first thing in the morning and the second dose around 3pm.  Any later and it seems to add to my trouble with getting off to sleep.

After 14 weeks I can say that D-Ribose is not a miracle worker – at least it’s not an instant solution.  But I certainly feel a benefit.

I’ve described before how most mornings I feel quite wiped out when I wake up (not uncommon for ME/CFS). Half an hour to an hour after that first D-Ribose dose I feel less heavy, less exhausted.  Very slowly I am doing a tiny bit more as the weeks pass.  It’s very hard to measure and it’s such a tiny improvement I am sure only people who have experienced debilitating fatigue will recognise it as a cause for note at all!

I’m sorry I can’t quantify the effect for you. I know that sounds like a cop out.

But on days when everything feels heavy often the D-Ribose takes the edge off that.  By my second dose around 3pm on those heavy days I feel ready for the dose and it’s enough to keep the edge off until late evening. 

When I have done perhaps a little too much the D-Ribose offers little respite.  But the ‘payback’ for such exertions seems to last for a shorter time than before D-Ribose.  Perhaps a day or two to recover from seeing a friend on a better day instead of 3 or 4 days (or longer) as before.

So I also seem to have more frequent better days.  At least better in terms of feeling reasonably OK at rest during the main part of the day.

I have another 2-3 weeks of taking the high dose Q10. Or at least deciding whether I need to continue with this (rather costly!) suppliment for more than 4 months.  I do not know if the current problems with IBS, constipation (and adverse reactions to foods which previously in my ME/CFS have not been a problem) are connected to taking Q10 or L-Carnitine or even my body healing – OR if these symptoms are merely a new phase of my illness that co-incide.

So, as always, I am rather inconclusive!  But I thought I had better report where I am at – good, bad or difficult to quantify!

In case you did a search and arrived here other posts of mine on this that might interest you:

D-Ribose – Week 1

D-Ribose – Week 2

D-Ribose – Week 3

Around 1 month – Dangerous Days

Suppliments I am currently taking

5 Responses to “D-Ribose – Week 14”


  1. 1 Nina July 22, 2008 at 7:37 pm

    Thanks for keep us up-to-date.

  2. 2 Mojita July 30, 2008 at 5:59 pm

    Hi, I’ve had really good success following dr. Myhill’s regimen (drmyhill.co.uk). I’ve gone from having to lie down every five minutes to being able to get by with just a nap mid-day. It was really not easy making all the dietary changesor taking the supplements throughout the day etc or learning to not push myself through the fatigue, but it’s been completely worth it. Good luck!

  3. 3 murbruk October 1, 2008 at 3:00 pm

    Are you using plain L-Carnitine? I use L-Carnitine in acetyle-form and that is far more effective for me than plain L-Carnitine. The pill contains 300mg acetyle-l-carnitine and 200mg alpha lipoic acid. It cured my fatigue and helps somewhat with my muscle weakness. Q10 has also helped me with energy and it helps a lot with my heart symptoms. I don’t suffer from CFS but from MS.

  4. 4 rachelcreative October 1, 2008 at 10:03 pm

    Murbruk

    Just responded to your other comment on another post https://chronicallyme.wordpress.com/2007/07/28/my-big-list-of-cfs-symptoms/#comment-699

    Following on from that and your question here …

    I am reminded about theories that fatigue and muscle problems are caused by problems with mitochondria. The theory (research?) says that Q10 and L-Carnitine help with this. As does D-Ribose.

    Dr Myhill says that this malfunction in the cells aso causes problems with the heart (and brain and gastric problems) which made me think maybe it might be something of interest to you.

    I take the plain L-Carnitine 500mg daily but I wonder if I should double that dose sometimes as I haven’t seen a dramatic effect. I’ve not known the difference with acetyle-l-carnitine so not tried that one. Interesting it has a different effect for you.

    I took 200mg of Q10 for 4 months but stopped a couple of weeks ago. Mainly a budget consideration! Started kind of following treatment plan of Dr Jacob Teitelbaum which recommended 200mg of Q10 for 4-9 months and trying to see if I still need to take it or not. Tricky to know.

    Anyway you might find some interesting reading about mitochondria function.

    Try Dr Myhill for a start (dig around and there’s more there) http://drmyhill.co.uk/article.cfm?id=429 and I’m pretty sure I have seen a lot of articles on http://www.immunesupport.com

    Also try looking at Dr Marshall and Dr Byron Hyde maybe.

  5. 5 1Cat2Many November 15, 2008 at 2:16 pm

    I caught mono in July 2007 and it has left me with chronic fatigue. I just started D-ribose yesterday and found your blog today. When I take the D-ribose it makes me feel dizzy. Last night I took 2.2 grams in flavored water and today I took 4.4 grams in plain water. Definitely made me feel woozy and the lymph glands on one side of my face felt funny. The reaction occurs within a minute. I don’t know if it is allergy or something else. I’ll keep going and see how things pan out. I am using something that is supposed to be pure ribose, nothing else.

    One thing that I have found very helpful is Ambien. My doctor put me on it in June and now I generally sleep 8-9 hours a night and seldom need a daytime nap. I do need to lie down for half an hour, but I don’t need to nap. Now I actually have some energy from when I wake up in the morning until lunch time. I don’t experience any side effects from the Ambien, not one, much less any of those horror stories you hear about. But the increased sleep it has not helped me increase the amount of exercise I do or the number of hours I work. I usually go to bed early and read until I am ready to sleep.


Leave a Reply

Fundraising


Push It 11 Sep 2011

for ME Research

CFS Links & Resources

See my entire list of CFS/ME/CFIDS links to sites, articles and resources via del.io.us
http://del.icio.us/rachelcreative/M.E.
New stuff is added all the time.

