M.E. Stops Play

No watching Shakespeare in the Park for me today.  An M.E. flare up distrupts the day.

Migraine, bowels playing up, stiffness in shoulders, swimming/ringing/thick head and feeling like someone has wrung me out.  Not getting off to sleep until 2.30am (4th night in a row) and therefore not getting enough sleep either.  Exhaustion pulsing sharply through the centre of my body into a dull roar by the time it reaches my finger tips.

Plus a morning of rain means the park/woodland where the play is on will mean transporting me in my wheelchair a soggy, sinking affair.  Not to mention sitting in the cold damp for 2 hours or so.

Sigh.

Growler is en route to fetch mom over to our house.  I wonder if she will still go and see my brother in action in the play.

It’s times like these I want to push through and show a resilient face.  Not reveal the struggle to my mom and act as normal as I can (all things considered).  But there’s just a little too much pain and too much exhaustion to fake it today.  Faking it will only make the following days even worse – and I don’t want that.

So whilst I imagine it will be difficult to know I can’t go out today because of M.E. – in reality this is just one of a typical kind of day for me and my M.E. life.  Sitting in the garden one day, crumpled and feeling sh!t the next.

 

 

3 Responses to “M.E. Stops Play”


  1. 1 Nina June 21, 2008 at 11:43 am

    Yep. It is how it is. Sad that you won’t get to see your brother perform, but better to rest and never, never fake it. It’ll back-fire on you just like any other kind of faking would.

    I’m still not happy to be the one left at home alone, but I’ve gotten more used to it and have more peace with it. For me, it has taken a long time to build the inner strength that gives me peace.

  2. 2 Rachel M June 21, 2008 at 6:34 pm

    Hugs.
    I’m listening. I understand…
    There is not much I can say, coz I know how it is… 😦 Just don’t feel guilty of venting.
    And I hope this shall pass sooner than later. Keep hanging in there, my friend.

  3. 3 Connie June 22, 2008 at 1:49 am

    So sorry to hear about this. Sending you (((HUGS))) and hoping that you feel better soon.


Leave a Reply

Fundraising


Push It 11 Sep 2011

for ME Research

CFS Links & Resources

See my entire list of CFS/ME/CFIDS links to sites, articles and resources via del.io.us
http://del.icio.us/rachelcreative/M.E.
New stuff is added all the time.

