Saving Up for The Dentist

I have a 6 month dental check up tomorrow so am busy saving up for it.  Well, in fact, NOT busy at all as I am saving up energy.  Or trying to not overspend on what little energy I have right now.

I spent a long weekend fighting off (or more relaxing my way out of) a looming migraine.  Trying to head off that peculiar feeling I get when a full blown migraine is on it’s way.  The drugs helped a little.

I’m also walking a knife edge with my bowels (“oh no – not more about her bowels again …”) and various aches, pains and odd numbing sensations in my limbs.  Nothing new then :o)

Although the symptoms aren’t new I have felt kind of … odd these past 5 or so days.  It’s hard to describe but I sort of feel like I should be more capable, like I am more well than I am.  When I try to do a little more my head starts to pound or my stomach starts to bubble and I realise I am not as well as I thought.

I am wondering if it’s the D-Ribose.  At rest I feel lighter, like I have a tiny bit more energy than I am used to at this level of unwellness.  I kind of have a false reading – or at least everything looks (feels) slightly different to what i am used to.

Anyway – here I am resting and not doing things in order to be able to make my dentist check up and hygeinist appointment tomorrow.  With another 3-4 days or recovering from the outing no doubt.  It’s not much of a reward when I am feeling a bit stir crazy.  When I am craving fresh air and green landscape.  When I am frankly fed up and a feeling a bit sorry for myself.

I have a long list of things I want to do and could do to distract myself and to cheer myself up.  But I’m not able to do them.  It doesn’t take much to bring back that pounding in my head and neck.

So I sit here quietly.  Surf a little and without any aim.  Find telly and DVD’s I can watch without taxing my brain or making me feel stressed or anxious (and that I can follow with a mildly fogged up brain).  Pout every now and again.  Try to think positive. Try not to think about the what news my dentist may have about the state of my teeth this time around.

Sigh.

I wish I could write succinct posts like this.

9 Responses to “Saving Up for The Dentist”


  1. 1 Rachel M June 3, 2008 at 11:58 am

    My mind often thinks it can do more than my body can… So when it says I cannot do things, I better listen to it.

    Good luck on the dentist. I haven’t seen them for ages and I really need to make an appointment. (Maybe after optometrist…) There was time when my head and face had experienced strong tention. It actually changed shape of jews a bit and closed gap in my front teeth. And it also cracked ceramic crown then it broke off… So I have one missing tooth. (Not pretty…)

    Anyway… I wanted to cheer you up. But I don’t know the right thing to say. So…, as usual…, I’m listening.

  2. 2 rachelcreative June 3, 2008 at 12:13 pm

    Thanks Rachel.

    When I first went to my dentist (who is lovely!) she gave me lots of lectures about how to care for my teeth. Lots of strict instructions.

    When I went a year ago and told her about my ME her advice changed and now she says “brush when you can” with a smile. She’s also delaying my upper wisdom teeth extraction because she knows it will be a big deal for me.

    She cured me (well mostly cured me) of my dentist phobia. She knows all the right things to do not to make me any more frightened that I already am. She does my fillings in a special way so I avoid the loud drill that makes me try to run away ;o)

  3. 3 Nina June 3, 2008 at 1:07 pm

    Wow, Rachel M can change Jews – I better watch out!! 🙂

    My first thought as I was reading was “could this be the D-ribose?” If you can’t just stop it for a while, and easily re-start it, this is actually where the pee test can be useful (oh my god, there she goes again!)

    Oh yes, feeling crappy for reasons we’re not used to can be very nerve-wracking. I understand………..not that it helps you much.

  4. 4 rachelcreative June 3, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    Nina and her pee test! :o)

    I didn’t explain myself well. Typically right now I would be feeling much much worse. I’d feel heavy and exhausted and like walking through treacle. I’d feel like this at rest too. As well as being on the verge of migraine and/or stomach cramps and/or aches etc etc I would also feel utterly squashed and floppy and weak.

    This past 5 days or so I’ve felt like that but without the crushing exhaustion. My heaviness has felt lighter, my treacle has all but gone. At rest I feel sort of OK as long as I don’t over tax.

    So I am moaning about feeling better?

    Well I am trying to say I am used to feeling lots of icky crap feelings before that edge of my headache has screaming in. Now the icky barrier is sort of gone so I have less clues about where the “don’t push past” point is.

    Does this make sense?

    So actually I am better I think because the D-Ribose gives me a boost. but it’s not a miracle worker and I have a long way to go. So my body is still fighting with ME. But I don’t recognise the signs or the signs are different as to where the really crappy stuff starts.

    PLUS beside all of that I am fed up with having such strict limitations. I am less able than usual in lots of ways and so frustrated – especially because I kind of feel ok but am not.

    Am I making this more confusing?

    I think the relief the D-Ribose is bringing is great – but it is hooking into my guilt (guilt about what I don’t do). Maybe.

  5. 5 ashysheela June 3, 2008 at 6:17 pm

    good luck at the dentist – hope your headache is not re-triggered by it and you feel better soon… i have been feeling a bit better in myself but also not really more able to do stuff and am wondering if is is d-ribose… hmmm who knows! nowt is simple is it? hope you get out for some fresh air soon (not just out to dentist of course…) 🙂

  6. 6 Connie June 4, 2008 at 3:05 am

    I have to save my energy for dentist appointments too! What a funny bunch we are. We do have to laugh, don’t we? 🙂

  7. 7 Nina June 4, 2008 at 12:55 pm

    Ah, I understand. I didn’t get it first time around. (duh!) I do know what you mean abt feeling better and feeling worse while feeling better:) What makes me better is heparin (blood thinner) shots, and I have to be judicious in when I use them or I will “blow out” in overdoing. IOW, my “normal” sense of when to stop is gone when I use it. I think that’s kind of similar…….

  8. 8 Alicia June 5, 2008 at 2:54 pm

    I don’t mind if you talk about your bowels one bit. 🙂

  9. 9 rachelcreative June 5, 2008 at 4:13 pm

    Ashy – Thanks :o) So far so good. A bit foggy, glands a bit tender and a cough (hopefully my “tired cough” and not anything else!) the day after.

    It’s a weird feeling – feeling better but not being able to quantify it or demonstrate it. Odd.

    Connie – I am trying to laugh about it yes.

    Nina – Sometimes I think I should think before blogging but if I do that I usually forget what I was going to say anyway! So we’ll muddle through eh?

    Yes – just like that. Not having that normal sense of when is the time to stop. That’s the transition I seem to be going through. Which isn’t really a bad thing so I should stop whining ;o)

    Alicia – LOL! I thought you might not mind :o) I read your latest post about food and being so … ummm … in tune with your own bowels.

    I know my own problems are nowehere near what you have had to (still have to) face and I try to keep reminding myself how lucky I am. Except when throwing a tantrum and loosing all sense of perspective of course. ;o)


Leave a Reply

Fundraising


Push It 11 Sep 2011

for ME Research

CFS Links & Resources

See my entire list of CFS/ME/CFIDS links to sites, articles and resources via del.io.us
http://del.icio.us/rachelcreative/M.E.
New stuff is added all the time.

