D-Ribose – Week 3

According to Dr Teitlebaum in his “From Fatigued to Fantastic” book you should know within 2-3 weeks whether D-Ribose is going to be of any benefit to you.  That means that although it’s an expensive suppliment you only need buy one standard tub in order to find out if it works.

I’m not doing star jumps.  I’m not suddenly feeling 10% better than I was before D-Ribose.  BUT I can definately feel a benefit.

This last week I’ve felt really wiped out, like someone has wrung me out of all my energy.  I wake in the morning feel more exhausted than ever.  I look at my arms and wonder how I’m going to get them to do anything today.  Then Growler asks if I want a cup of tea (peppermint of course) and I suddenly remember II’m about to get my first D-Ribose of the day.

WIll it work today?  Surely not because my arms are so weak and I feel so utterly devoid of energy.

I reckon within half an hour of that first cuppa with my 5 mg 5g D-Ribose dose in the limp arms are doing what I ask of them and I’ve forgotten how utterly rubbish I felt when I woke up.  It doesn’t give me enough energy to get up and do anything different to my normal routine but it definately lifts some of the weight pressing down on me – it definately gives my battery a little trickle of a charge.

I figure that hopefully this means it’s also giving my body a little boost to fight whatever infection, inflammation or thingymabob that ravages my body under this CFS label.

So I’ve ordered more and I plan to continue using it for the forseeable future.  I’m reluctant to move the dosage down to two 5mg doses a day just yet especially as I’ve introduced additonal nutritional suppliments slowly after icky gastric problems a month ago.  So I’ll bend the rules and stick with three daily doses for the next week and then go to two a day.

The only bad side effect seems to have been I’m not sleeping very well.  It’s taking me around an hour on average to get off to sleep, I’m having vivid dreams and am restless through the night. then wake up feeling heavy and dozey and actuallly – ready for bed!

This could be a side effect of the D-Ribose or could be another new/revisited symptom in my ME/CFS wheel-of-symptoms.  I seem to also have faulty cognitives this week (mainly showing in mixing up words and mumbling internal thoughts out loud).  Plus my glands are aching for the first time in months and months.  Sigh.   Tender glands in my neck where one of my most prominent symptoms back when this bout of moderate/severe ME kicked in.

Anyway – good news about the D-Ribose so far.  Hoping to see more progress over the coming weeks but even the tiniest of boosts feels significant to me!

6 Responses to “D-Ribose – Week 3”


  1. 1 Nina May 7, 2008 at 1:11 pm

    If you’re using more physical energy (sounds like you’re not sure), it can definitely drain on the cognitive. That’s what’s happening to me now a I work hard to focus on divorce and getting the house ready to sell. Taking care of ME and the cat used to be my full-time job……..HA!

  2. 2 Daphne May 7, 2008 at 7:00 pm

    I’m so glad you’re noticing a bit of difference… every little bit helps. BTW, my partner has a blog now, at http://www.cfswarrior.blogspot.com

    Hope you start to feel a bit better soon!

  3. 3 becky June 29, 2008 at 5:05 pm

    Just read your June 2008 d-ribose 8th week report.

    Like you I am clinically diagnosed with ME, and began NSI d-ribose & Source Naturals Magnesium Malate in March at 5 grams daily. Due to reactions it took me until May to discover I tolerate well 10 grams. June has been most days 10 grams.

    Now I am sharing All your questions about D-ribose/ME .

    So, 2 weeks ago I tried walking just 1/2 mile one day. Encouraged, the next day I walked a mile, AND HAVE BEEN CRASHED EVER SINCE.

    I hope 10 grams a day does help our immune system etc . ( But I don’t know if we will ever be able to add more to the daily chores of living alone. ) And D-ribose does lessen the pain , enable better housekeeping, etc. As you know, these are not small things !

  4. 4 deb June 29, 2008 at 6:14 pm

    ME diagnosed, COQ10 gave me insomnia etc and nausea. Research www and verified this reaction, though rare. Since March 2008 I am tolerating 10 grams daily of Corvalen well. It is helping with pain, and housekeeping . The magnesium malate in Corvalen helps the aching. Also the mild constipation some get with d-ribose at 10+ grams day. Lots of love to you . Thanks for doing this blog !

  5. 5 Anne October 19, 2008 at 8:43 pm

    I have been taking D-Ribose + Magnisium for about 2 months now, and I can say I do have more engery and less pain then before, only thing is I got violently sick last week and I still have trouble eating plus I am very gassy and loose stools plus my hernia is acting up.. I was wondering if anybody else is having these problems? I can say that I am sleeping a little better. I am only taking 1 tsp. in the morning , but I am not an eater till about supper time.
    Any Advice for me..I need help.
    Thanks


  1. 1 Can D-Ribose Make You Sick? « ChronicallyMe Trackback on April 3, 2009 at 2:46 pm

Leave a Reply

Fundraising


Push It 11 Sep 2011

for ME Research

CFS Links & Resources

See my entire list of CFS/ME/CFIDS links to sites, articles and resources via del.io.us
http://del.icio.us/rachelcreative/M.E.
New stuff is added all the time.

