D-Ribose Action Plan – First Week

As promised I’ve started taking D-Ribose and implemented my plan of action.

I’ve been taking daily three 5mg 5g doses of D-Ribose for a week now.  I also introduced 200mg of Co-Enzyme Q10 and 500mg of L-Carnitine daily on top of the key suppliments I already take. 

Two weeks ago I started making (even more) dietary changes to target my IBS problems following advice on helpwithibs.com – mainly to be stricter in avoiding dairy, red meat, chocolate, egg yolks, and carbonated drinks (having already reduced my dairy intake and spurred on by having terrible gastric problems after switching to scrambled eggs for breakfast).

The first two days of D-Ribose I could feel it having an effect – giving my body a boost and lifting fatigue levels.  This came after a “good” week where I had been out a few times and had company for a few days.  I was at a low ebb and the D-Ribose felt magical.

Then on day 3 I experienced some kind of gastric flare up due to … I don’t know what.  Certainly D-Ribose is not supposed to have any side effects other than a risk of hypoglycemia and possibly loose bowels (definately not my problem!). 

Having felt extremely naseous with the anti-oxidant N-Acetyl Cysteine in the past I stopped taking my one of my new suppliments Q10 just in case.  I’ve had L-Carnitine 500mg in the past without problems so have persevered with it for the full week.

So on day three I felt as exhausted as I would have typically after the previous week’s exertions and without the D-Ribose.  Am I getting the kick start I was promised?  I’m not sure yet.  But I’m giving it time.  At least the 2-3 weeks that was suggested.

The gastric flare up has continued pretty much constantly – the only let off being Friday through to Saturday morning. 

I’m utterly miserable with near constant discomfort, heartburn constipation and wind with the occasional reflux.  And it’s exhausting to deal with.  Sigh.  Three weeks ago I’d concluded the eggs had triggered it.  Now I have it even with the best IBS diet I’ve had ever before.  It could just be a bad IBS flare, it could be some kind of virus, I could be detoxing or it could be something totally new requiring a visit to the doctor.  All I know for certain is I’m fed up with it.

My world had started to expand a little since March when I finally shook off the Christmas virus.  Now it’s gone very small again.  Frustration led to a bout of only seeing the can’t-do stuff instead of my can-do stuff thinking.  I didn’t blog then because … well what’s the point.  I feel more optimistic now but still utterly miserable about my current symptoms. 

The prospect of having to see a doctor to find out if this is something new (you know kidneys, gall bladder, undiagnosed bowel hell …) is not filling me with joy – especially as it always feels a gamble with CFS/ME to know if you’re going to get the correct answer or a ‘blame in on the CFS’ response.

OK.  So this turned out to be more of a self pitying rant than a progress report – but if you avoid the glum bits you can still hear how the D-Ribose plan is going.  Undecided and complicated by my stupid CFS riddled body.

34 Responses to “D-Ribose Action Plan – First Week”


  1. 1 Nina April 20, 2008 at 3:09 pm

    Well, you changed a lot of things at the same time (new suppleents, different food) so, of course, there’s no way of knowing if just one of those things is a trigger. Taking away possible irritating food doesn’t seem like it should be a problem — what are you eating instead?

    I don’t have IBS specifically, but of course I have other GI problems. I did quit dairy this year and it has helped. I’m thinking about wheat (which you didn’t mention) — it’s a difficult one to subtitute — but not there yet.

    You’re not going to like this suggestion, but what about starting again w the supplements one at a time, adding every 2 weeks.

    Of course, you’re right — it could be something completely different —aacccccckkk! I’m with you on the frustration, and impressed that you could see yourself thinking “half-empty” and switch to “half-full”.

    Moving thru frustration to acceptance is something I still haven’t mastered. I can do it sometimes, but not when things really suck.

    Sending you good vibes and a big hug:-)

  2. 2 rachelcreative April 20, 2008 at 6:35 pm

    Thanks for the vibes Nina :o)

    I am thinking I might have to go back to scrath and re-introduce things s-l-o-w-l-y. But what’s annoying is I haven’t made HUGE changes. Only really dropping a few things from my menu which I have occasionally but not all the time.

    I’ve been pretty much wheat free for over 18 months now. It was hard to give up my beloved bread but once I found rice pasta is (in my opinion) better than wheat pasta things got smoother. I have wheat very rarely – and then it tends to be the odd treat (like a biscuit or cake) or when I’m eating out and it’s difficult not to (like lack of choice). I can’t say it has done anything to help CFS although maybe I would be a lot worse if I DID have wheat every day. But I certainly feel a LOT better on my insides for not eating it.

    I decided it was silly to avoid wheat some months ago and started back on bread type lunches … and felt really bloated and disgusting pretty quick.

    So yes. I might have to stop the new suppliments and focus on one things at a time. You’d think I’d have learnt by now to be a little more patient ;o)

  3. 3 Daphne April 20, 2008 at 7:38 pm

    Glad the ribose is helping… it seems to cause a little bit of jitteriness, which could be manifesting as upset GI with you. Hang in there. I know (from my own experience with IBS) how uncomfortable it can be. I usually go on a week-long rice-bananas-water-peppermint tea diet and then slowly add stuff back in. I did find that once I limited my wheat and dairy consumption (as well as upping my protein and veggies) I feel much better for much longer periods of time. But back to the Ribose — yes, it appears to help! Dont’ know if this is helpful since you’re in Britain, but have you checked out this website? http://www.vitacost.com/ Great prices!

  4. 4 rachelcreative April 21, 2008 at 12:42 pm

    Daphne thanks for this. The jitteriness comment is soothing words for me. You could well be right.

    Oh and thanks for the link. I think postage and possibly import taxes would bump these great prices up for us Brits but I’m sure some US folks will find it useful. Great prices indeed!

  5. 5 denise April 22, 2008 at 1:28 pm

    I tried D-Ribose about 18 months ago & remember a definite small but significant energy boost, but also had tummy pains. As I was being patient at the time & the Ribose was the only recent change I concluded it was the problem. I carried on taking it but only 1 flat teaspoon a day & I did not purchase more. Have heard others conclude that it helps with energy but has no apparent long term benefit. I think the Fatigued To Fantastic Energy Revitalization System sounds a better bet & have heard that it really helps altho not a cure.

    http://www.enzy.com/go/EnzymaticTherapy/productDetail.aspx?alias=EnzymaticTherapy&tabalias=productDetail&partcode=03250&sc=True

    iherb.com seem to be the cheapest…….but go for the DLS posting option otherwise u end up paying taxes when it arrives in UK.

    D 🙂

  6. 6 Susan May 25, 2008 at 8:04 pm

    I just tried D-Ribose at what I now gather is a relatively low dose of about 4 gms spread throughout the day. It gave me a tiny energy boost, but terrible constipation and migraines by the third day. I was compelled to stop it after only 5 days, and the side effects and the mild energy boost are disappearing. Has anyone else experienced these side effects? Due to the timing and addition of only the one change to my routine, I feel confident that the D-Ribose was the cause.

  7. 7 rachelcreative May 27, 2008 at 11:14 am

    Hi Susan.

    I have found that the energy boost effect is not long lasting but requires the regular dosing. I am losing the boost by the the time the next dose is due.

    Most of what you read on the internet says there are no side-effects from taking D-Ribose.

    I did find this but it refers to large doses (10g or over):
    “The first is a transient hypoglycemia (low blood sugar) that can be eliminated by taking larger doses of ribose with other carbohydrates (such as in juice). The second side effect that may occur in some individuals is loose stools. Again, this side effect has only been reported in very large doses, greater than 10 grams.”

    It is a simple sugar and so most ‘experts’ say it’s not possible for it to cause side effects.

    There are some people who say that the D-Ribose gives your body and your cells the energy they need to function more efficiently and thus fight hidden/chronic/stealth infection in the body. It fuels your mitochondria.

    When fighting this/these infection(s) it is possible you may get a Herx reaction.

    A Herx reaction would fit with the side effects you describe.

    It’s also possible that if the D-Ribose is fuelling your body properly you may be better absorbing other suppliments/nutritional elements that are fighting the infection and thus feeling worse.

    Also I found this:

    “Ribose may support the body’s innate antioxidant mechanisms while promoting an antioxidant effect of its own.”

    From 15 May – Almost Random Research http://mantamedia.spaces.live.com/?_c11_BlogPart_BlogPart=blogview&_c=BlogPart&partqs=amonth%3d5%26ayear%3d2008

    Personally I am still undecided about whether I buy into all of this ‘stealth infection’ and the idea that you have to feel worse before you can fell better.

    So mainly I mention it all of this because I haven’t seen it written down in those terms on my web searches and it may be of interest to you to do some reading on it. I am not an expert – I am just recounting some of what I have encountered myself reading around the web.

    I first came across the idea of herx reaction when fighting “stealth” infections in ME/CFS when I was trying large doses of AllicinMax http://www.cfs-allicin.com/

    You read a lot about Herx reactions on things like the Marshall protocol.

    Some reading on herx reactions:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Herxheimer_reaction

    http://lassesen.com/cfids/herxheimer.htm includes suggestions for treatment

    And a mention about “die-off” and Herx reactions when de-toxing:

    http://www.ahummingbirdsguide.com/treatingmeantioxidants.htm

    I don’t know if any of this helps! It may be worth discussing the problem with your doctor in case there is some underlying condition which could cause the symptoms when taking this small dose of simple sugar.

    I’m no expert. I’m sorry it is having these horrible side effects for you.

  8. 8 ashysheela June 19, 2008 at 3:57 pm

    just thought i would say in case anyone buys from iherb – i bought 2xenergy revitalisation system and 1xjarrow formulas mityqondria tablets and it did seem the cheapest – i also got DHL delivery and it came within 3 days which was amazing as from the US, but now i have an import VAT bill from DHL for £12.28 so factor that in folks!

  9. 9 mominma February 8, 2009 at 7:41 pm

    I am just starting d-ribose and seem to be having reflux/chest pain. The first time I tried it a couple of months ago I was also using some other things so wasn’t sure what was causing the increase in reflux. however, today I tried a miniscule amount (1 g) and boom! chest pain…of course I can’t find any information about it causing heartburn/reflux. I’m super sensitive to things, but still…this is ridiculous! I’m wondering if you ever figured out your gastric upset – was it induced by d-ribose?

  10. 10 rachelcreative February 9, 2009 at 11:17 am

    Hi mominma

    How frustating for you! I’m going to be totally honest with you – I had forgotten that my gastric problems had started around the same time as D-Ribose and have just plodded on in the last 9 months.

    I am still having the same symptoms I describe in this blog post a lot of the time. Maybe for 4 or 5 days in a row and then it goes off for 4 or 5 days.

    I had totally lost whether there is any connection with the D-Ribose because it had slipped out of my mind. I did have IBS problems prior to D-Ribose but not quite the same feelings.

    I’m wondering if an experiment to cut out the D-Ribose is in order. But it does make such a difference to my energy levels day to day it’s difficult to stop taking it.

    If you find any answers or solutions do let me know!

  11. 11 cindy March 13, 2009 at 9:24 pm

    Hi. I started the D-ribose over a week ago, and I’ve had abdominal pain, constipation, and now increased pulse and blood pressure. I’m wondering if ALL of these symptoms are from the D-ribose. In addition, I don’t seem to feel an increase in energy level. According to Dr. Teitelbaum, I took two chewable tablets 3x/day. I think I’m ready to quit it.

  12. 12 marc flayton April 3, 2009 at 8:48 am

    Ribose can increase uric acid which causes gout- even a little of something can cause a little of something. Ribose is made by fermenting corn syrup. fermentation of anything is bad for people with colon problems. How would soy fermented feel, or beer, on a bad stomach and colon. Well thats all I know. It will make you dizzy, it is no where as good for you as building up your body with exercise, walking?

  13. 13 rachelcreative April 3, 2009 at 10:12 am

    Cindy – Sorry to hear the D-Ribose seems to be causing you these problems. I think Dr Teitlebaum says in his book you will know within 2 weeks if it will benefit you.

    Marc – Thanks for the info about D-Ribose raising uric acid levels. I hadn’t read this before and now you’ve tipped me off I’ve found lots of references to it. I can’t establish whether studies showed that it raised uric acid to dangerous levels for people who are not already prone to gout.

    It doesn’t make me dizzy.

    I will probably blog more about this.

    If only building up your body with exercise were an option for everyone with M.E.!

    Thanks for the uric acid info.

  14. 14 Jenny June 8, 2009 at 2:57 pm

    Dear all,

    I have just read through all your blogs and I have to say its putting me off the D-Ribose which has been recommended to me by a Dr Myhill (heard of her?) in Wales who seems to have a lot of M.E info. I have been doing reasonably well on a combination of 7 months of the Perrin Technique (which is a manipulation technique to rid your body of toxins, improve immune system and sympathetic nervous system and clear your lymph system), Co-Q10, Vegepa and more recently Adrenal Stress end tabs from Dr T (the latter really really helped but side affects are weight gain and you are not supposed to be on it too long – my Dr isn’t keen on me being on it at all!!). I have also given up dairy, wheat and yeast and am a veggie anyway. Can’t say it has helped with the M.E but it has helped with my chronic allergies and any IBS probs I had (which weren’t that much worse than pre M.E anyway).
    I had hoped the last part of the jigsaw would be D-Ribose as my last tests showed I had low ATP levels and even though I can do a bit more day to day if I overdo it slightly I suffer for a good couple of weeks. But after reading all your stuff and given the potential hyperglyciemia probs, heart and chest pains and worse IBS i am not sure its worth it especially given the price!!! Any more recent updates from anyone who has persevered would be great.

    • 15 rachelcreative June 9, 2009 at 10:05 am

      I have updated since that having gone back on D-Ribose after a break that the D-Ribose does not seem to be responsible for my GI or IBS problems.

      I do find it beneficial and although it’s expensive I do prioritise paying for it because it does give me a boost.

      The side effects post was focused on the side effects rather than the benefits. Mainly because no-one seems to be saying it all in one place anywhere else and lots of people reported problems. You would know within a few weeks (within one tub of D-Ribose) if it is or is not for you. Side effects would be apparent quickly I think if you are one of those affected.

  15. 16 ashysheela June 9, 2009 at 11:30 am

    i took it for quite a while and never had any problems with side effects at all – just not sure it really had much beneficial effect either so have stopped for the moment.

  16. 19 sandrar September 10, 2009 at 9:12 pm

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

  17. 20 Anne December 29, 2009 at 11:04 pm

    “cindy
    March 13, 2009 at 9:24 pm
    Hi. I started the D-ribose over a week ago, and I’ve had abdominal pain, constipation, and now increased pulse and blood pressure. ”

    Cindy – thanks for posting that. I had an immediate reaction to D-Ribose within minutes of taking it – quite similar to yours (increased pulse and blood pressure, plus lightheadedness/jitteriness). Wish I’d known about that possibility before buying. Before I saw your comment I’d read that there were no side-effects. So I initially attributed my reaction to something else. Quite dangerous since I have a history of recurrent pericarditis.

    Marc – thanks for the info on uric acid levels. I’m on cholchicine for my pericarditis (its an off-label use but apparently quite common). Colchicine is normally used to treat gout – which is related to elevated uric acid levels. I’ve never seen any connection between recurrent/chronic pericarditis and uric acid levels, so I have no idea why colchicine is prescribed for it. But your post provides a good reason why I’m safer avoiding D-ribose.

    Thanks!

  18. 21 Mallory January 15, 2010 at 3:20 pm

    Hello, thanks all for the information.

    I have been taking D-ribose now for about one and a half years for angina and fatigue. It has worked well for me.

    This is the first time I have heard about the high blood pressure, and now that I think of it, my pressure has been a little higher lately when tested. Thought it was due to advancing age 🙂

    There is a lack of energy if I miss a couple of doses. The angina comes back fairly quickly also. After a week I am dragging myself around. 10-15 grams a day is optimum for me. Less and the angina returns. I’ve never found anything that compares to it, but do not take prescribed drugs, and cannot afford to see a doctor regularly.

    The saving grace for me is that I order it in 1 kilo jars from a company online called Nutrabulk. Don’t know if you in the UK can order from them, I pay $69, incredibly cheap compared to buying in stores, and 100% pure.

  19. 22 Larry January 16, 2010 at 12:39 am

    Taking supplements in pill form is almost always hard on the stomach and what’s even more obnoxious is the fact that pills are not readily absorbed taking up to 4 hrs in some cases to be broken down by the stomach. By that time up to 70% of the nutritive value has been lost…I have found that the Isotonic delivery system of supplementation is superior because it is bio-available in 5-10 minutes after drinking. Isotonic means “same pressure” as tears,plasma,blood,and even mother’s breast milk. The body instantly recognizes particular nutrients in a user friendly osmotic form and it passes through the intestinal membrane directly into blood stream…something like an oral I-V.

    This is a newly patented system:
    You get info & watch video explanation here… this is just one of several Isonotix Combos:
    Isotonix® Advanced B-Complex http://tinyurl.com/n2e2ef

    Istonoxs are usually pretty gentle on the stomach but gastro-intestinal issues are sometimes helped with Aloe Juice…
    My Pastor could not stomach Aloe until he tried this for his Crohn’s Disease and he won’t go without it now.

    Ultimate Aloe® Juice http://tinyurl.com/ycgol75

  20. 23 Janet April 30, 2010 at 8:39 am

    I have found http://www.doctormyhill.co.uk very helpful for CFS/ME including gut problems. JM.

  21. 24 David May 29, 2010 at 2:14 pm

    I was dianosed with IBS several years ago. I could not figure out how this had occured. No family history of this. I had always been healthy, ate the right foods, exercied and now this. The doctors could not explain this other than saying it sometimes just happens. I delt with it for about a year after dianosise. After some extensive internet research I came across one little bit of verbage that trazidone could be link to IBS. I had been taking trazidone for several years to help me sleep. I quite taking the trazidone and within a few weeeks I started having normal bowl movements and have not had any more IBS systoms since discontinuing the trazidone. Weather your taking trazidone or not, you may want to look at other medications that is causing the IBS. Hope this helps. Good luck.

  22. 25 Jennie January 11, 2011 at 12:45 pm

    I stopped taking Imodium after five months of taking Osteocare with added selenium. Now free of IBS and continuing Osteocare tabs. Am very interested in the D-Ribose.

  23. 26 Gavin Patterson June 20, 2011 at 9:52 am

    Magnesium would more than likely help with the stomach problems with the d-ribose? And doesnt Dr T recommend all 4 together? L-Carnitine, D-Ribose, Q10, Magnesium? I dont know. I’ve found that meditation has helped alot and changing my mindset of pain being a ridiculous thing and started to accept it as a natural part of life helped heaps.

    Sometimes with a better system, we notice more pain in areas that weren’t as well circulated. Sometimes though the supplement just sucks for us. Hope you can figure out which.

    Cheers,
    Gavin

  24. 27 David November 14, 2011 at 9:17 am

    D-ribose has been a huge positive factor in reducing my muscle pain. But then again my muscle pain is due to a nasty auto-immune disorder called Stiff Person Syndrome.

    My main treatment is immunosuppressants (prednisone, Medrol) but the combination of magnesium, d-ribose, creatine pyruvate, and CoQ10 is also essential to me for actual reduction of pain, I avoid supplementing much carnitine since it is one of nature’s best anti-thryoid absorption compounds.

    I had been on 7.5 mg of D-ribose a day for 2 years. Recently my doctor doubled me to 3 x 5 mg. There was quite a payoff modulo some blood sugar lulls after intake. I also recently increased my CoQ10 to 3 x 200 mg / day.

    The reason I am posting is that indeed the combination of the increases in the two compounds has re-awoken reflux and some esophageal discomfort. My doctor explained that ingesting the compounds into the stomach is causing my stomach-based proton pumps to work better and make more stomach acid (I have had hypochlorhydria for years). Sadly since my lower esophageal sphincter does not work very well I can easily get the stinging all the way up to my sinuses.

    Remember d-ribose is the only way the body can replace the energy pool in your cells especially if they are under low oxygen stress (i.e. low perfusion). CoQ10 is the arbiter of the electron transport chain. Both will help provide ATP production in your proton pumps. So in fact the more reflux you get the more the two are doing their job.

    Again if cellular energy production is part of your problem then D-ribose is essential. As are CoQ10 and magnesium and even carnitine. Question is ow much do you need, can your body make any of its own, and how much should you supplement.

    If D-ribose does nothing for you, either the dose is too small, the other catalysts in the production cycle are the rate-limiting steps, or your real problems are not energy related.

    Oh and there three brands I can think of that have no corn in them, most notably Solgar, the others are Source Naturals and Life Extension.

    Hope this helps!

  25. 28 robert j. roth March 26, 2012 at 4:28 pm

    D-ribose definitely raised my blood pressure.I was using it only before working out,primarily running and kickboxing. rob

  26. 29 Angie October 12, 2012 at 10:52 am

    I’ve got CFS/ME and I started taking D Ribose a few weeks ago and I have never felt worse. Muscle pain to a degree I’ve never experienced before, increased diffiuculty with sleep but even more tired. Dizzy to the point of not being able to function and neck pain and stiffness that I’ve never had before. I am stopping it now, hopefully it won’t take too long for these elevated symptoms to subside.


  1. 1 D-Ribose - Week Two « ChronicallyMe Trackback on April 28, 2008 at 9:19 am
  2. 2 From Fatigued to… well… fatigued « Ashy’s Weblog Trackback on May 18, 2008 at 7:17 pm
  3. 3 D-Ribose - Week 14 « ChronicallyMe Trackback on July 22, 2008 at 5:39 pm
  4. 4 Can D-Ribose Make You Sick? « ChronicallyMe Trackback on April 3, 2009 at 2:46 pm

Leave a Reply

Fundraising


Push It 11 Sep 2011

for ME Research

CFS Links & Resources

See my entire list of CFS/ME/CFIDS links to sites, articles and resources via del.io.us
http://del.icio.us/rachelcreative/M.E.
New stuff is added all the time.

