Special Atheletic Sugary Hope

It’s pleasing and inspiring to read about Rockycha’s progress using a Chronic Fatigue Protocol tailored for her. 

Oh alright – I admit my first reaction was less graceful and more suspicious.  I know I know I’m a horrible person!  I think there are so many theories, “cures” and miracles out there for CFS/ME that it can make you more than a little jaded.  But I am genuinely happy to hear how much better she is doing these days.  It’s a true joy.

But this is no miracle cure for Rockycha – it’s been hard work to research and maintain good practices on the protocol.  Hearing mention yet again of D-Ribose (and Dr Jacob Teitelbaum) made me wonder if maybe it’s time to listen to what’s being said carefully and make up my own mind.

There are many supporters of D-Ribose as an essential and near wonder suppliment for CFS/ME sufferers.  It’s a special sugar that is supposed to deliver energy to muscles and is used by athletes.  See I like it already – it’s sugar and I’m an athlete … ummm … well nearly.

I’ve also heard CFS/ME sufferers saying it didn’t work for them.

Well I went ahead and ordered the legendary “From Fatigued to Fantastic” (nauseating title).  I’m skimming my way through the heavy stuff and thinking I may as well give some of this a go.  In particular this D-Ribose stuff the doc claims you will know within 2-3 weeks if it’s going to help or not.  Even though it’s expensive and some folks say it can make you pile tonnes of weight on I reckon I can afford a few weeks experimentation.  Dr Teitelbaum’s moustache unnerves me somewhat but tells us he donates all the money he makes on suppliments to charity and he gives you enough info to source treatments yourself.  Unlike some folks who say it’s my wonder suppliment or nothing!

I have a friend coming to stay with me soon so will wait until after that to start which gives me 2 weeks or so to start weaning myself off sugar 😦  But let’s face it my body can do less snackage and sweet toothness regardless.

So I have my D-Ribose on order and a plan forumlating.  Yes, another one. 

But I’ve also been feeling a little better – a teeny tiny fraction better relative to my still sucky health and level of debility.  But most of you will understand how a fraction is tiny on one hand and a huge deal on the other.  And I like the idea of boosting the tiny progress it seems I am maing naturally (even if it’s very very slow).

Well, we’ll see.  At least I can say I tried.

3 Responses to “Special Atheletic Sugary Hope”


  1. 1 fsxmmm1 March 30, 2008 at 3:57 pm

    Interesting piece.But supplements can be a minefield.Basically Weight training is a part of my life,I’m older now, But the body,diets and such always greatly interests me. Particularly men at my age are dying or have died long ago. I ask why? Lynus Pauling-Nobel prize winner phyicist said to take mega doses of “c”, if you are interested, go to doctoryourself.com

  2. 2 Daphne March 31, 2008 at 8:36 pm

    My partner (with CFS) uses D-Ribose and hasn’t noticed a HUGE difference but it does help. Hasn’t noticed any weight gain either. Cutting out sugar in the diet really DOES help, however. Good luck!!


  1. 1 D-Ribose Action Plan - First Week « ChronicallyMe Trackback on April 20, 2008 at 2:33 pm

Leave a Reply

Fundraising


Push It 11 Sep 2011

for ME Research

CFS Links & Resources

See my entire list of CFS/ME/CFIDS links to sites, articles and resources via del.io.us
http://del.icio.us/rachelcreative/M.E.
New stuff is added all the time.

