Thinking Happy Thoughts

That last post I could feel the sadness welling up inside me.  I caught up on some on regluar blogs today and there’s so much sadness, pain and illness in people who should be living happy carefree lives.  I am torn about reading blogs sometimes because I don’t want to feel that sadness but at the same time I relate to it.  Plus many people have such enormous challenges in their lives and still they laugh and love and live.

I must also not forget that often my own blog has sadness and pain and hurt in it too. 

SO … I am thinking some happy thoughts to balance out myself and to remember that all our lives are not just one colour or pattern.  And to re-assure you that I am indeed OK I shall recount one of my happy thoughts.

It was Mothers Day a few days back and I always want to take my mum out someplace if I can.  She’s active but has been struggling with some health problems and side effects from medications herself recently – so if we (me and Growler) can take her out places it’s such a bonus.

After a lovely lunch we visited the National Memorial Aboretum in Alrewas(Staffordshire, England).  We had my wheelchair and this was my first leisure outing since Christmas!  I was so excited to be out and even the sun came out for me.

The lady at the entrance suggested I could use one of their mobility scooters.  I was kind of nervous about using one but thought as there were such wide paths there it might be a good place for my first time.  Why oh why was I nervous??  It was so simple to use – push a little flat lever gently to go forward and release it to stop.  Even my brain managed to push for forward, release for stop AND remember to steer.

I cannot tell you the elation I felt when we reached open path and I found myself able to go where I wished, when I wished at what speed I wished.  We wound our way along the spiral path up the Military Memorial which is just magnificent.  And I pootled around it on my own schedule – stopping to take photos and reload my camera without needing to ask Growler to stop or to wait for me. 

20080302_self

What an unbelievable lift a tiny piece of independance can make to your soul.

On the wide paths me and Growler even got to hold hands as we walked (and scootered) along.  What joy!

My mom has been suggesting for some time that I think about getting (or she buy me) a mobility scooter of my own.  I have to admit to feeling quite enthused at the idea after our outing!  BUT looking at the practicalities involved I think the best solution is the one we have now.  We have the manual chair which is transportable in the car and practical for going away and so on, which Growler is happy to push me around in.  And then when we visit places like our favourite haunts a lot have their own scooters for loan or hire, which are the right kind for the job (some offroad for instance) – but they look after them, service them and so on.  It wouldn’t be practical to have a scooter that I could use in the places I want to go AND fit in a car.  Maybe one day it might be a good fot to have one at home so I can go around the local places in our town – but right now that’s not practical either.  It’s not just getting places – I also need to be able to cope out there in the world on my own.  Just so you know why it’s not on my shopping list just yet.

But I did have a blast.  Maybe a bit too much fun considering the sombre surroundings.

5 Responses to “Thinking Happy Thoughts”


  1. 1 Connie March 6, 2008 at 6:18 am

    I’m so glad you enjoyed your outing and the freedom you felt with the scooter. See how we can appreciate the simple, little things in life? I’ve come to know appreciate moments like that more and more. I still get sad and angry but that’s OK too. We’re only human!

  2. 2 Barbara K. March 8, 2008 at 5:03 pm

    This may sound hokey, but I start my day by saying (not sure to whom): thank you for this beautiful day in this beautiful world and for enabling me to participate in it.

    It doesn’t matter if it’s hailing golf balls or if my pain level is up to a 9. I find that saying that offers me a quiet pause, one clean breath of appreciation before I enter the battles of the day.

  3. 3 tammyrenee March 11, 2008 at 6:26 pm

    WOOOHOOO! Another successful outing for Rachel and Growler! I’m sure it helps you both keep your sanity, ha, ha.

  4. 4 scanipoos May 19, 2009 at 3:38 pm

    Im glad like younI have one of the scooters and im glad of the freedon it give me to get about . tou cant beat being able to get out and just say hello to other folk,

    sure helps the depresion

  5. 5 Charmed Rivers March 21, 2010 at 8:47 am

    I am glad you took the oppotunity to take out your mum. It’s an added bonus that you realized that your own freedom can be enhanced with available options. Good for you!


Leave a Reply

Fundraising


Push It 11 Sep 2011

for ME Research

CFS Links & Resources

See my entire list of CFS/ME/CFIDS links to sites, articles and resources via del.io.us
http://del.icio.us/rachelcreative/M.E.
New stuff is added all the time.

