Respite Gofer

Growler is letting his hair down this weekend.  Off to see his beloved Wales play rugby in the 6 Nations at home.  I love that he is going, I love that he gets to see his best mate and I love that he gets to be a normal welsh bloke for a day.

I am stopping with my dad overnight who has volunteered (with a smile) to be my Respite Gofer.  Which sounds much nicer than carer I reckon.

I admit to having some reservations about my sixty five year old father undertaking such tasks as fetching me drinks and making sure I take my medication … but (as a friend pointed out) he is probably delighted to be able to help.  He certainly sounds it.

So I hope it will be good for me.  Good to be able to admit some of the help I need to someone other than Growler and not to feel weak or hopeless just because I need assistance.  Plus the ability to share the load is a positive step.

So why do I feel nervous?  Something to do with feeling vulnerable? A fear of seeming lazy and/or too demanding? A worry I will do more to compensate and tire myself out?

2 Responses to “Respite Gofer”


  1. 1 Connie February 7, 2008 at 6:31 am

    I’d say all of the above. It’s something new to reach out to others for help so it just may take time to get used to. If your Dad is excited than focus on that. He wants to be with you and help you! Who can ask for more? Let us know how it goes.

  2. 2 rachelcreative February 7, 2008 at 5:21 pm

    Thanks Connie 🙂 You’re right, of course.


Leave a Reply

Fundraising


Push It 11 Sep 2011

for ME Research

CFS Links & Resources

See my entire list of CFS/ME/CFIDS links to sites, articles and resources via del.io.us
http://del.icio.us/rachelcreative/M.E.
New stuff is added all the time.

