DLA Success!

I have been awarded Disability Living Allowance!  I am so happy!

They have given me Lower Rate Mobility and Middle Rate Care allowance.  Plus they have awarded it for 2 years.  Great news.

I am certain this is down to a strong application with lots of additional information, seven supporting letters/statements from family and friends and a great GP who I suspect wrote a spot on report for the DLA decision makers.

I wholeheartedly recommend subscribing to www.benefitsandwork.co.uk to anyone considering applying for DLA.  They also provide advice on Incapacity benefit claims.  Their advice guide is just brilliant – it’s easy to follow, it decodes the ridiculously complex DLA form and it tells you step by step how to give the strongest application you can.  They also left me in no doubt that I qualify and that I should apply.

As well as owing a huge than you to the family and friends who wrote supporting letters and stood by me through this process, and a huge thank you to my GP – I know none of it would have been possible without Growler’s help.  He did all the hard work – extracting from me what I wanted to say, filling in the gaps in my thinking/memory and writing up the 50 plus pages of questions and additional information sheets.

I am so relieved not to have had to have a doctors visit/medical.  The letter says my application, further information and GP’s statement was enough for them to make an award.  I have even received the back dated payments already!  Plus it took them just 2 months from me posting the form for them to make the decision – not too bad by government standards!

Now I just have to decide how to use the money.  Especially as I wasn’t really expecting to get it.  Perhaps a gardener, or a cleaner, or part time P.A. to do errands and little tasks … or to save it towards something bigger … an electric wheelchair, a go slow holiday, an electric bicycle … or practical things like taxi’s to get more independent, supporting my huge vitamin habit, investing in more pyjamas, buying a shower seat … or to invest it for bleak rainy days …

Hmmm. A nice problem to have.  Wonderful in fact.  It IS possible to have CFS and qualify for DLA.

8 Responses to “DLA Success!”


  1. 1 Rachel M January 23, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    Congratulations! 🙂

  2. 3 lilwatchergirl January 24, 2008 at 5:54 pm

    That’s WONDERFUL! DLA successes are so rare. Best of luck with deciding how to use it! 🙂

  3. 4 Connie January 26, 2008 at 7:27 am

    Congrats! For those of us with “invisible illnesses” it means even more than the money I think….

  4. 5 Haushinka February 10, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    Great news! 🙂 You might now be able to loan a shower seat and other aids for your home from your local council’s social services department – I’ve had great luck with mine and have a bath board (we have an over bath shower), a perching stool for the kitchen and a kettle-tipper… all for free as long as I need them. It’s worth asking 🙂

  5. 6 jim parrott February 21, 2008 at 11:49 am

    really pleased to hear about your success with DLA, wish me luck too, cos im trying tog et it, and like you using works and benefits site.
    Spend the money well and enjoy it – ps if you have any left I’m sure I can help you fond a good home for it!

  6. 7 rachelcreative February 21, 2008 at 10:04 pm

    All the best with your application Jim! And thanks for leaving a comment.

    Oh and thanks for the encouragement too 🙂

  7. 8 Ellie Peabody January 7, 2011 at 6:40 pm

    Well done.
    Yes it is possible to get DLA if you have ME. I have been awarded HRM and LRC on an indefinite basis without having to go for a medical.
    The two main things that I think got me the benefit to which I am entitled are
    1)Benefits and Work Guides – invaluable for claimants trying to determine exactly what info the DWP need (and it is not necessarily what they ask for on the forms)
    2)Supporting medical evidence from my local ME/CFS Service and my wonderful GP
    🙂


Leave a Reply

Fundraising


Push It 11 Sep 2011

for ME Research

CFS Links & Resources

See my entire list of CFS/ME/CFIDS links to sites, articles and resources via del.io.us
http://del.icio.us/rachelcreative/M.E.
New stuff is added all the time.

