Dull January

My christmas cold lingers and is wiping all traces of energy from me.  My brain isn’t too bad but everything seems dulled.  I have mental lists of things I could do, want to do, need to do – but no reserves at all with which to try.

My limited activities have been limited yet further – even the basics have been cut down.  My spirits are fairly good, but prone to exasperation and frustation although even those feelings are dulled.

The virus is mainly in my sinuses and throat – dulling my hearing, grating on my throat, pressing on my face and sometimes with a spiking headache.  Like my CFS although in this case much more rapid, the virus symptoms are cycling.  Yesterday my voice and throat were much better, my sinus clearer but my cough going strong.  Today I wake to no voice at all, restored now to at best a gravelly rumble – my throat is irritated, raw and dry, my sinuses dry and clogged, my hearing dulled once more.

I’m wishing Growler was fit and healthy but he too has the virus which does make for a useful comparison of my progress.  I’m able to not be too despairing seeing how long it’s taking him to get over the virus and how wiped out he is.  But of course this doesn’t help with feeling jolly about life – watching a poorly exhausted Growler tend to my needs when all he wants is to flop and rest.

So … it’s a time of trying to maintain a balance and perspective – to stop the bottom lip from trembling and reminding myself that things are OK.  But managing to be or do or exist much outside of the body with it’s symptoms and irritants and annoyances is difficult right now.

Happy on the inside though.

7 Responses to “Dull January”


  1. 1 arttitude January 12, 2008 at 2:31 pm

    yeah, flu here too……blech! One thing I find helpful is to NOT speak at all (difficult!) on the days when my throat feels better and then the next day my throat won’t hurt.

    I remember when my husband and I lived together and I, too, was glad to have a partner in the flu (mine never waited on me). But you and I know it will pass. As long as we can keep happy on the inside and even laugh at times (not out loud to protect the throat!), we’ll get better.

  2. 2 rachelcreative January 12, 2008 at 3:35 pm

    Yer – thanks for this 🙂 Good advice here.

  3. 3 Rachel M January 13, 2008 at 4:06 am

    At the moment, I seem jinx myself if I say about symptoms. (If I tell someone that I don’t get the symptom now, somehow this universe give it to me. lol.) I mentioned before that I don’t get nose blocking and balloon blowing sinus infection or cold. *touch wood* Now, I have nose blocking and eye itching allergy reaction to something… 🙂 It’s not nice, but at least I am sharing a little discounfort with you.

    As Arttitude siad, this will pass. Happy inside can be the best medicine we could get. I’m sending positive and happy thoughts your way hoping it will speed up your recovery.

  4. 4 rachelcreative January 13, 2008 at 10:48 am

    Thanks Rachel. Hope your blocked nose and itchy eyes are just a one off and go away forever!

  5. 5 Growler January 16, 2008 at 8:50 am

    I’m feeling better 😉

  6. 6 Barbara K. January 19, 2008 at 3:31 am

    I so remember feeling afraid of getting a cold or flu on top of what was already broken in my body. I once went for two weeks without hugging my sweetie because he was coughing and sniffling. Boy, did I learn a lesson. Hugging is more important than contagion.

  7. 7 rachelcreative January 19, 2008 at 11:11 am

    🙂 That is a very important lesson indeed.

    Back when we thought I had Glandular Fever I refused to let Growler kiss me on the lips for fear of passing it on. So we kissed on the forehead for weeks and weeks. It was really rather a tender exchange.

    We set out to avoid contamination and we found something really intimate and loving 🙂 It just goes to show!


Leave a Reply

Fundraising


Push It 11 Sep 2011

for ME Research

CFS Links & Resources

See my entire list of CFS/ME/CFIDS links to sites, articles and resources via del.io.us
http://del.icio.us/rachelcreative/M.E.
New stuff is added all the time.

