Doing, Juggling and Head Spin

I feel like I should be doing something.

What I actually need to do is to rest (and rest and rest) to conserve energy and recharge that faulty battery of mine so I can have a Wednesday and Thursday of doing. 

Wednesday and Thursday will be spent in Derby with dentists, meeting friends, a work farewell lunch and an overnight stay.  Plus no doubt a burning desire to take like a zillion photos.

Maybe I have peaked too early in my mental preparations.  Maybe I want to be doing to escape the head spin I am in over shopping and credit card.  I have purchases I want to make, purchases that need to be done NOW to qualify for special offer, a big refund pending with no news of when it might come, a need to ensure I am going to be here to take the deliveries and a stupid crappy credit card limit that makes purchasing everything I want right now impossible.  Argh!  It also took me 3 days to decide on the clothing I wanted to order and now I have a cold sweat about spending money on clothes – and where I’m going to put them.

Sigh.  This has always felt complicated but even more so these days.  I went through a spend first think later phase in my twenties which got me into a lot of trouble.  So now I like to try and hoard my money and make it stretch.  But CFS gets me muddled – I know I am getting bargains because I spent days and days pouring over things.

I’m rambling I know I am.  Sorry folks.  I can’t relax until this stuff is sorted and I can’t sort it until … erm … later?  Who knows.  Maybe I am more nervous about my work end that I thought.

I think I’m going to have to ask Growler to give me some simplifying logic to all this 😉

PS: Later … Growler to the rescue.  Shopping expenditure underwritten 😉

5 Responses to “Doing, Juggling and Head Spin”


  1. 1 Nina October 31, 2007 at 9:44 pm

    Hi Rachel,

    I’m not sure exactly what’s going on w you needing to buy stuff, but that doesn’t matter. I just wanted to share my experience. Often, in early days of CFS, I would buy stuff over the web, just to make myself feel better. But then I would find that stuff didn’t fit, needed to be returned (ugh!) and that I really didn’t need new clothes. Buying was turning out to be more exhausting than not buying.

    I think that last was the hardest after being used to buying a working wardrobe. But it’s jeans and sweatshirts for years now and lots of patching:-) I sort of have a game where I see how long I can make something last by patching.

    As for a wardrobe budget? Well, I spend it on art supplies:-D

  2. 2 rachelcreative November 1, 2007 at 6:28 pm

    Yer – you know there may be an element of that for me.

    Also it can be exhausting and I can get stressed out over it. I think this is one I need to contemplate a bit more 😉

    I don’t buy a lot of clothes – recently it’s been warm trousers with elasticated waist 🙂 This order is a load of thermal stuff and vests – plus some new tops so when I DO get to go out I don’t feel a total scruff.

    Anyway I am sure money in the bank and time used on art is a much better scenario. Food for thought 🙂

  3. 3 Rachel M November 2, 2007 at 3:45 am

    If you could clone Growler, could you send one to Australia? 😉
    I hope you are having good day.

  4. 4 rachelcreative November 2, 2007 at 10:56 am

    No problem. Just as soon as I get my evil lab set up 😉

  5. 5 tammyrenee November 4, 2007 at 2:12 am

    I’m already feeling anxious about holiday spending and I haven’t bought the first gift! It is hard to keep track of regular expenses, let alone keeping on budget with gift buying. Throw in the fact that I’m also trying to start saving for a larger down payment on our future home, well… it is likely to get rather hairy!


Leave a Reply

Fundraising


Push It 11 Sep 2011

for ME Research

CFS Links & Resources

See my entire list of CFS/ME/CFIDS links to sites, articles and resources via del.io.us
http://del.icio.us/rachelcreative/M.E.
New stuff is added all the time.

