New and Improved Recipe

I’m a new woman.  Well, I’m the same woman with a new haircut and with imminent freedom from the suits.  Well, I’ve had a haircut and am nearly jobless. 

Having not had a haircut since June 2006 because I haven’t been able to get to my hairdressers I finally had a big chop yesterday.  She took a lot off!  From wasit length scruffy hair to short-ish tussled look.  A totally new look! 

The challenge of a haircut isn’t just the getting there.  Things you take for granted when you’re healthy are suddenly major stumbling blocks with CFS.  I need to have wash in order to be clean enough for the stylist to come near me.  I need to physically get to the salon.  I need to be well enough to sit in a strange environment for an hour.  I need to be able to cope with a noisey environment, other people, potentially a chatty stylist, having to hold my head a certain way and still have the energy to pay and get home.  And I don’t know how people with Multiple Chemical Sensitivty get on!  There’s all those lotions and sprays and cosmetic perfumes in stuff.

Lucky for me there is a small salon just one minute from my front door.  It’s got high ceilings and is reasonably airey – and was quiet enough for me not to have total overload.  One stylist who was lively but sympathetic and not rushing but just taking her time.  No pressure.  She even (bless her) offered to give me a lift home.

I know it’s oh so sad to go on about a haircut but it’s a big deal for me!  It took me around three months from deciding to take action to actually get the phone number and ring for an appointment.  Up until then I hadn’t felt well enough to ring without losing all my words.

So thumbs up.  Local was a good decision for me.  And I feel a bit lighter and a bit springier – even if I am a bit wiped out today after my adventure!

In other news I am close, very close to an agreement with my work to ending my contract in a mutually agreeable way.  Hopefully more definite news soon once the union has approved everything.  Mixed feelings on this one – but I know ultimately that freedom will be a good thing.

6 Responses to “New and Improved Recipe”


  1. 1 Rachel M October 19, 2007 at 3:19 am

    I like your new look. It shows your vivacious spirit. 🙂
    I am hoping that the union will give you good news. It will help finding a new tick box, like ‘positively in the process of finding my calling’. 😉

  2. 2 rachelcreative October 19, 2007 at 8:54 am

    Thanks Rachel. I like the sound of that 🙂

  3. 3 Growler October 19, 2007 at 10:04 am

    You is a fox

  4. 4 Rachel M October 19, 2007 at 2:13 pm

    You are lucky man, Growler. 😀

  5. 5 Growler October 20, 2007 at 9:38 am

    Absolutely…

  6. 6 bbabe October 23, 2007 at 8:10 pm

    I always find a haircut makes me feel different and better. Good for you for taking a step to make yourself feel better.


Leave a Reply

Fundraising


Push It 11 Sep 2011

for ME Research

CFS Links & Resources

See my entire list of CFS/ME/CFIDS links to sites, articles and resources via del.io.us
http://del.icio.us/rachelcreative/M.E.
New stuff is added all the time.

