DLA: First Steps

I’ve been saying for months and months that I intend to apply for Disability Living Allowance (DLA) and not got round to it.  Mainly due (ironcially) to poor health and difficulty in getting complex tasks like filling out a DLA form, done.

 But I’m moving in the right direction now.  I’ve signed up with www.benefitsandwork.co.uk to access their brilliant (and updated) guide to applying for DLA on physical grounds.

My task in the next two weeks is to read through the guide and start making notes on how I can fill out each section of the form.

I have also emailed family and a few friends today to ask if they would consider writing a supporting letter or statement to go with my application.  It feels like a big step.  Not only do I have to face to realities of what I am not able to do or struggle with – but I am also inviting my loved ones to face it too.

I forget to say this but I would be quite happy with a letter that says “Rachel often stinks and looks a right mess.  Her appearance is unkempt and she often smells as she doesn’t wash very as she is too tired to because of her CFS.”  I mean I wouldn’t be happy that my family think I stink half the time – but it’s true.  And there’s no point pretending to the decision makers that I smell sweet as a rose due to long lavish baths every day when it’s painfully not true!

So, I’m a little worried what the reaction to my email might be.  I’m even worried that I sounded like an idiot as it took me an hour to write it! 

I’m not brilliant at asking for help – especially when that help is “please put in writing formally everything I am crap at these days”. 

But it’s not my fault.  And the money each month could help me to be more mobile, or even (I am half dreaming) to employ a part time gardener or cleaner even … hmmm.  OR spend on feeling not so crappy.  Or on the vitamins and suppliments I take each month.  Or on taxi’s to visit folks off my own back.  Or on all the gadgets I have my eye on in my latest disability aids catalogue.  Oh yes! I know how to live a rock’n’roll lifetsyle!

5 Responses to “DLA: First Steps”


  1. 1 ouiser October 3, 2007 at 12:40 pm

    It is going to be interesting to see how the SSDI process differs from the DLA process. Our system is so screwed up that I don’t even know how to explain the whole thing. Seems to me the only way to win a claim is to get an attorney and battle it out. An uncle of mine had a heart attack and didn’t fully recover. WHen he went back to his doctor for another stress test, he had yet another heart attack! So he applied for SSDI while waiting to get well enough for heart surgery to insert a pace maker and was denied once, then again on appeal. It is crazy how this works!

  2. 2 rachelcreative October 3, 2007 at 1:46 pm

    SSDI seems to be like our Incapacity Benefit in the UK and gues what? The system sucks here too! It’s often very difficult to claim and a high percentage of folks with my condition are turned down and have to appeal.

    The appeal process can take a long time and doesn’t always mean you’ll get the decision over turned.

    Seems to me you stand a better chance of being successful with a chronic condition if you are not sick and claiming fraudelenty – as they are the only people with the stamina to do it well!

    It’s mad.

    DLA is awarded to assist with care and mobility – so it’s seperate to a social secruity type payment. You can work and still be eligible. But it’s still really complicated and difficult to apply for. Sigh.

  3. 3 rockycha October 3, 2007 at 3:44 pm

    *hugs* Boy I feel for you. I don’t have the energy to go to a doctor, let alone file for disability. Huge undertaking – but I know if you do it, there’s a chance of huge benefits. I remember when I didn’t have M.E./CFS at all, and I was applying for university study – the application form by itself was a rigorous undertaking. I remember saying to myself “Gee, if I can complete this nonsense and go through all of these hoops, graduating from college should be a breeze!” It was a true statement, and I did graduate. 🙂 I wish you success in your endeavor, and if it makes ya feel any better, I stink too 😉 carrie rockycha.wordpress.com

  4. 4 rachelcreative October 3, 2007 at 4:45 pm

    You know what? It does make me feel better knowing that 🙂


  1. 1 DLA: Form Filling « ChronicallyMe Trackback on November 7, 2007 at 5:58 pm

Leave a Reply

Fundraising


Push It 11 Sep 2011

for ME Research

CFS Links & Resources

See my entire list of CFS/ME/CFIDS links to sites, articles and resources via del.io.us
http://del.icio.us/rachelcreative/M.E.
New stuff is added all the time.

