Things on my tiny mind

It’s pretty easy with my current level of CFS to get overwhelmed by thoughts of things I need to do/decide.  It’s quite uneccessary most of it not least because the same things wash around and around without me ever listening to the solutions!

The list currently includes:

  1. What am I going to wear to dinner on Thursday evening?  I know I decided this weeks ago but will I be too dressy?  Will I be warm enough? 
  2. Why am I worrying about what to wear when the major worry is will I have the energy to go out and enjoy myself?  Will eveyone notice if I’m struggling because I sure as hell don’t want to put a downer on things.  And the last thing I want or need is to draw attention to myself.  But pretending everything is normal is quite touch because it so isn’t at the moment.
  3. Am I a horrible person for being pre-occupied with my own thoughts about myself?  Why aren’t I thinking about other people more?
  4. Will my friend be ok?  My friend from work who is subject to even more bullying tactics than I was when I was there.  I worry for her health, her mental health and there’s nothing I can do except passive support.
  5. Will the postman come with my parcels this morning?  And if he does should I get out of bed and go down to sign for them?  or should I risk leaving it and hope it’s easy to get the parcels another day – which depends on the courier as some as not too nice and they are not very flexible.
  6. How did I get to the point that I can’t answer my own front door without having to weight up the costs to my health?
  7. Is this viral infection really a viral infection?  Is it just another part of my CFS?  will it ever get better?
  8. Should I take painkillers?  If so which ones should I take?  My glands are tender and my shoulders – so do I need an anti-inflammatory or a pain blocker?  Is it bad that I just want to take anything and everything to stop feeling extra crappy?
  9. Why am I so exhausted?  Who is right and who is wrong?  What is happening to my body?  When will anyone have an answer that is agreed on?  What are the right things?  Can I do them?  Do the people who tell you the right things know how difficult it is to live life right – even at the best of times – let alone when you have so few pleasures left in life and some things you do because it’s the only way you know how to survive and being told you are wrong isn’t tremendously helpful to maintaining a positive attitude?
  10. Do I have any friends?  Really.  Do people care?  Do people care enough to want to help?  Have I distanced myself from them deliberately?  Or indirectly because I am so unable?  How do I get to see people when there’s a price to be paid?  Which is worse – never seeing friends, risking losing them or making your health worse? Are there any answers or is it all just questions?

There’s more.  But is a good number and I’m suffering now so I’m stopping for a while.

6 Responses to “Things on my tiny mind”


  1. 1 Rachel M September 4, 2007 at 4:31 pm

    Hi Rachel
    I care, although I don’t have physical capacity to show it to you. And I am listening, too. Hugs 🙂

  2. 2 rachelcreative September 4, 2007 at 4:59 pm

    Thanks Rachel. No need for effort on my behalf. I’ll be fine.

  3. 3 Connie September 5, 2007 at 3:11 am

    I do this worrying bit too. Even though I know it will only make me worse. Please take care. (((Hugs)))

  4. 4 elizabeth September 5, 2007 at 9:28 pm

    I know I’m not supposed to say “I liked the list” but I liked the list. I don’t know the answers but I do have a lot of similar questions – maybe we should start a “where has everyone in our life gone” support group (which actually might be a really despressing group – maybe we should just meet online for virtual coffee?

    I like #6 – where you are in this tunnel of pain and fatigue and stuff and realize, that these are things other people don’t actually think about and it all becomes surreal.

    Thanks for posting (geez what a long response, eh?)

  5. 5 ouiser September 6, 2007 at 12:46 am

    Not sure what solice there is in this, but you seem to have virtual friends, at least! And I, for one, certainly care (thick and thin), don’t feel distanced at all, and feel like we get to visit right much, even if only in our trips to blogville.

  6. 6 rachelcreative September 9, 2007 at 10:40 am

    Thanks everyone. Your taking the time to comment is much appreciated. It does help. Even if the list seems a little alien to me today – but knowing it won’t be long before I’m wracking up a new list!


Leave a Reply

Fundraising


Push It 11 Sep 2011

for ME Research

CFS Links & Resources

See my entire list of CFS/ME/CFIDS links to sites, articles and resources via del.io.us
http://del.icio.us/rachelcreative/M.E.
New stuff is added all the time.

