My Disability Is …?

I’ve finally realised what my disability is.  Some people have disabilities that are easy to spot, name, describe.  CFS is one of those disabling conditions that is more difficult to pin down.  I have a host of symptoms, my condition is variable over time and my need for assistance is sometimes preventative (using a wheelchair to avoid triggering symptoms and worsening of general condition).

It makes getting assistance, claiming benefits and getting a blue badge for parking very difficult for many sufferers.

Today, after months of not knowing quite how I was disabled it came to me.  My disability is my lack of energy.  Some people have a lack of walking, lack of sight, lack of mental capacity.  I have a lack of energy.  Even on a day when I am seemingly “normal” and able that lack of energy is still there.  I do not have the reserves of other people.

Energy, or lack of it, or being without reserves of it – that is my disability.

It sounds kind of obvious now!

2 Responses to “My Disability Is …?”


  1. 1 angrygimp June 21, 2007 at 4:44 pm

    Lack of energy as a disablity, how obvious and yet not. Great insight!

    Me too, BTW.


  1. 1 To Live with Invisible Disability « Blue Coffee Mug Trackback on June 24, 2007 at 4:35 pm

Leave a Reply

Fundraising


Push It 11 Sep 2011

for ME Research

CFS Links & Resources

See my entire list of CFS/ME/CFIDS links to sites, articles and resources via del.io.us
http://del.icio.us/rachelcreative/M.E.
New stuff is added all the time.

