Things I Enjoy In Spite of CFS

Things I enjoy in spite of living with CFS:

  • blogging (erm, obviously)
  • drawing
  • taking photos
  • laughter
  • listening (friends, family, peace of my garden, music – in small doses)
  • watching (clouds, people, trees blow in the breeze, my cat being a cat, good tv – in small doses)
  • day dreaming
  • chocolate – in small doses
  • shopping (via the internet these days but I get to take my time and I get to shop at any hour of the day)
  • having a cuddle
  • my own company

Everything should have the caviat “in small doses”, “in moderation”. 

Too much of anything is not good for me – my tolerance is lower than once it was.  Many of my pleasures are simple, quiet and kind of unassuming compared to life back in that fast lane.  But I’m happy.

I swell with pride that I am able to appreciate small details in life and gain such enjoyment from them.  How happy am I that I can watch a tree sway in the breeze and feel joy from something so simple which costs me nothing.

I’m not necessarily saying I would rather get a tree than a tv … I’m not quite that enlightened.  But that you know what?  It’s ok to enjoy the little things. 

8 Responses to “Things I Enjoy In Spite of CFS”


  1. 1 rachelcreative May 23, 2007 at 10:04 am

    Should that be In Spite Of, or Despite? This illness shows up my brain gaps 🙂

  2. 2 Coops May 24, 2007 at 8:38 am

    Hey that’s such a great idea to write a list like that – especially to look over it when we feel our enjoyment is so hindered. I’m going to go and write my list now too!

  3. 3 amusednot June 1, 2007 at 11:51 pm

    Hi There

    When I read your list I smiled lots! How easy it is to focus on the stuff that you cannot do when you have such a devastating condition such as ME.

    If anything has come from my battle with this Disease I have truly only recently been able to fully grasp the concept of “Being grateful for the little things”

    -Regards
    amused

  4. 4 hymes June 2, 2007 at 4:27 am

    I was quite down today about my kidney stuff for various reasons to much to get into here, but when I drove home from the store and parked, a little frog jumped out of a hole and hopped quickly into view and made me laugh for the first time all day.

    I love your list, it’s a great remimder for days like these.

  5. 5 bipolarworks June 2, 2007 at 8:30 pm

    I like your blog
    I like your list
    It’s good to appreciate the small things in life

  6. 6 rachelcreative June 12, 2007 at 11:38 am

    Thanks for all your comments 🙂 Sorry for the delay in posting them up – I have been offline and soaking up the real word for a couple of weeks.

    I’m so glad you enjoy the little things too 🙂

    This morning when I woke up and felt groggy and tired I saw the cat at the end of the bed looking at me. I beckoned him with a little movement of my hand and he bounded over all soft warm fur and purrs. Magical.

    I love the frog moment hymes. That’s the kind of thing that you can draw on again again – a good way to get some perspective when things are getting crazy in the world around you 🙂

  7. 7 Connie June 16, 2007 at 2:40 am

    When I’m in a good and positive mood these are the kind of things that keep me going. Thanks for posting them.

    Some of them I never thought of before. I’ll add them to my list and when I’m down I can focus on some more goodies to feel better.

    I especially like the last one about enjoying your own company. I’m getting so much better at that one.


  1. 1 Have Your Say - Things I Enjoy Even When I'm Sick « give me nrg Trackback on May 30, 2007 at 8:04 am

Leave a Reply

Fundraising


Push It 11 Sep 2011

for ME Research

CFS Links & Resources

See my entire list of CFS/ME/CFIDS links to sites, articles and resources via del.io.us
http://del.icio.us/rachelcreative/M.E.
New stuff is added all the time.

