Losing Weight with ME progress report – 6 months

Image

Well it’s over 6 months of healthy eating and gentle exercise and I’ve lost 27lbs. Slightly behind schedule but that’s not the end of the world.

I’m needing to mix things up a little in the coming weeks to keep on track and build on the work I’ve done.  I’m somewhat more ill with some big exertions recently like a sort of holiday and family celebrations so the exercise has dropped off and the pull of comfort eating is stronger.  Especially as the weather declines and the days grow darker the lure of comfort food is strong.  But I’ve come half way so I’m not turning back now.

Losing the weight has made life a little easier and in some ways you could say I have more energy because there’s less of me to haul around.  But it hasn’t reversed my ME. I think eating less fat has been a big boost to my system.  I looked up the Swank Low Fat Diet for MS and happily discovered that I’ve actually been eating under the recommended fat levels for months now. A lot of the measures it suggests are part of my eating habits anyway with the adjustments I make for IBS.  So in that respect I think my ME has been helped a little.

I’ve been finding it tricky to tip the scales and measuring tape beyond my current 27lb loss into the 2nd half of my target weight loss.  Hoping that mixing some things up int he coming weeks with exercise and diet might give a kickstart to that.  One thing I did discover was that as I had been doing more exercise (like walking or gentle swimming) I hadn’t been eating back my exercise calories leaving me with a low balance of fuel for the days activities.  So I’ve been eating more on those days and that has helped.

It’s certainly not easy to lose weight when your activites and diet are so restricted. Adjusting to smaller portion sizes and discovering how little fuel my body actually needs on sedentary days has been a revelation. I’ll keep chipping away and hope by Spring I’m at my target.

3 Responses to “Losing Weight with ME progress report – 6 months”


  1. 1 Martha Perry September 21, 2012 at 10:04 pm

    Well done. There is an Buddhist teaching story about paying too much attention to the goal as opposed to the process. I noted that you are focused on the end result, kind of apologetic for not meeting your goal when your process is indeed remarkable! Well done again!

  2. 2 Harriet February 6, 2013 at 8:15 am

    i am going to be starting this medication and I hope that it will work for me. I have been having a hard time with medication, for example: having allergic reactions to them. On is asprin i was taking asprin for yearsand now i can’t take it any more. I have tried cymbalta for anxiety and for my chronic lower back pain,i had really bad muscle cramps,stomach cramps, and abnormal bleeding and light headiness and was irritated. i am at my wits end with medication and i have tried exercise and i have lost 35lbs and seems that my pain is getting worse and my doctor doest seem to care
    .


  1. 1 365 Days of Weight Loss with ME « ChronicallyMe Trackback on February 10, 2013 at 1:08 pm

Leave a Reply

Fundraising


Push It 11 Sep 2011

for ME Research

CFS Links & Resources

See my entire list of CFS/ME/CFIDS links to sites, articles and resources via del.io.us
http://del.icio.us/rachelcreative/M.E.
New stuff is added all the time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers

