Push It for ME Research – 11 Sep 2011

my wheelchair at stowe poolI’m proud to announce my fundraising wheelchair push/walk is going ahead in just 5 weeks time.

Push It is a 10k fundraising wheelchair push/walk for ME Research on Sunday 11 Sep 2011 in Lichfield, Staffordshire, UK.

My condition means I can’t run a marathon or do a skydive to fundraise. So on Sunday 11th September 2011 a team of volunteers will push me in my wheelchair over a 1o km (6.2 miles)  route around Lichfield. Some will walk the full distance, others maybe just 1km (3/4 mile).

Sitting in the wheelchair while being pushed might not sound like hard work for me it’s actually going to be a huge effort on my part.  Due to ME/CFS I am mainly housebound and when I do go out it requires careful planning or my condition can be worsen very easily.

I’ll be documenting what happens and keeping you all informed through live updates via twitter and facebook

I hope you’ll join me on my adventure and help me raise money for ME/CFS research.

You can donate online or in the UK text “PUSH 50 £5″ to 70070 (you can choose any amount up to £10 per text donation).

 

More information about how to join me and route/schedule

 

 

3 Responses to “Push It for ME Research – 11 Sep 2011”


  1. 1 Sue Jackson August 4, 2011 at 5:29 pm

    This is so cool, Rachel!!!

    What an awesome idea. I am so impressed. Has it been a lot of work to organize? Maybe we should try something similar here – I will be very interested to hear how it goes. And I will certainly contribute!

    Way to go!

    Sue

    • 2 rachelcreative August 6, 2011 at 11:39 am

      Thank you so much Sue :) Well like all things I formulated my plan slowly and have paced the organising. I had to postpone for a bit over a bad health patch but finally in the swing of things again.

      I talked over my plans with family and they were able to say what seemed good and bad ideas (like distance etc).

      I used google maps to plot a route as it measures the distance automatically and then lets you share the map. It took a few attempts to get the right distance and my husband was able to check over the route for access as he cycles a lot. So for instance I avoided doing too much in the cobbled areas of my city centre which is realy exhausting for me in a wheelchair.

      Because it’s just an informal thing we can keep it really simple. Just turn up at an agreed time and do the distance, maybe make a bit of a picnic/social of it too.

      I’m looking at getting a little bit of promotion done – maybe a couple of photos and article for the local press. And some ribbon sashes and cards to hand out with the details about how to donate.

      I’m a bit nervous and the responsibility of involving lots of family and friends is a bit daunting but I just have to remember to keep things simple.

      I realised that friends and family helping me around the 10km route, both pushing my wheelchair and walking with me, is a great metaphor for the love, help and support they give to me all year round. Kind of like all of us versus M.E. :)


  1. 1 Push It for ME Research – 11 Sep 2011 « Blue Coffee Mug Trackback on August 9, 2011 at 7:31 am

Leave a Reply

Fundraising


Push It 11 Sep 2011

for ME Research

CFS Links & Resources

See my entire list of CFS/ME/CFIDS links to sites, articles and resources via del.io.us
http://del.icio.us/rachelcreative/M.E.
New stuff is added all the time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers

